We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience! ”
Review of Lloyd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lloyd's Inn
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

I'm architect and I had great expectations about the place! My biggest surprise were the improvised and unnoticed repairs. They woke us up every morning with hammers and dwellings on our wall, it was unbearable to stay in the room.

In spite of that, the general manager could not extend the slightest courtesy or honest apology.

The biggest irony of it all was that the room they gave us wasn't the one we booked, when we arrived they told us we got an upgrade from our "Standard" to a "Premium Room" with a view (which by the way faced a neighborhood across the street that had first seats to our chambers, meaning we could not have our curtains open at any time without having a community of spectators)

The second day there was another unnoticed event, which was none other than a school/ college field trip, touring the accommodations and crowding all common areas.

PS: The breakfast included was incredibly poor and 7 minutes away from the hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Luisana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Luisana H,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay - some mild repair work was being done. The room was an upgrade from the Standard Room which is on the first level, to the Reading Room, which is on the second level and is a more spacious room. The architecture field trip was a once-off tour at the hotel, we apologize if this disrupted your stay. We would definitely consider this feedback in future & not to disrupt any guest experience with tours. Nevertheless, it was a pleasure for us to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Room was compact but with space savvy design. Good enough for a short stay. Love the slightly open shower area (we booked the Reading room) and the view looking out to the open green.
Staffs were nice and the whole check in/ out process was very smooth. Room even comes with a smart phone for the guest to use during their stay.
One down side was the not so great sound insulation. We were taking an afternoon nap and could hear people's LOUD laughter (figured it was from the guests having fun near the pool area).
However, with the location and experience, it was still worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank j_liw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear J_liw1,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us to host you at Lloyd's Inn. We are sorry that the noise issue bothered you. However we hope that this would not deter you from returning and we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Have been wanting to try the rooms and finally manage to book a room. you have to book the room like min 4 to 5 months ahead. The hotel is small and hiding in the lane but the room is spacious. It was quiet accommodation but not that convenient to walk in.

Room Tip: The room I book was located at level 1 and slightly noisy as it is beside the staff room. you may r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Eileen S,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us to host you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lloyd's Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Great design good service and reasonable price for location near CBD and Orchard road.... A must try for a good design lover and people who don't mind to stay at small hotel... And for the bonus, they gave you breakfast at Killiney Kopitiam

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wirendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Wirendra T,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us to host you. Glad you enjoyed your Lloyd experience and the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lloyd's Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

After reading all of the many positive reviews, I was very excited to come to Lloyd's Inn. I have been to Singapore dozens of times for business and have stayed at a wide variety of hotels. Here are the plusses and minuses as I see them.

PROS:

- Front desk was very friendly, responsive, polite, and service-minded
- The hotel is situated in an excellent location, along a quiet residential street
- Aesthetically, the outside of the property is very nice and portrays a residential setting
- Room seemed generally well maintained

CONS:

- My room was a "loft style" arrangement with a bed upstairs and a (very) small living quarters downstairs. The toilet and shower were situated through a glass door at the rear of the living space, and this area was partially exposed at the top to the courtyard with curtains for privacy. This scared the daylights out of me every time I had to go to the bathroom because the environment is perfect for snakes - of which Singapore has more than 15 venomous kinds. I actually developed an elaborate inspection ritual for each visit. This was less than ideal to say the least.

- The room itself had a sparse "basement" feel that I suppose might appeal to certain travelers. It did not appeal to me.

- There was no iron or ironing board in the room

- Hotel Wifi worked but was frequently too slow

- The room's only sink was in the corner of the room underneath the stairs to the bed. An empty mini-fridge sat below. While this was probably the best they could do with the space, it again did not appeal to me personally

SUMMARY:

I probably would have loved to stay here in my 20s or early 30s as a leisure traveller because it offers a unique environment that its not the typical "cookie cutter" hotel model. But as a 40-something business person I found the environment and amenities not conducive to my core travel interests. Fundamentally, this is not a business friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTrekPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear GlobalTrekPro,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us to host you. Thank you for your feedback that we will review for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lloyd's Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
446 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#104 of 319 in Singapore
845 reviews
Hotel Innotel
#90 of 319 in Singapore
437 reviews
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#157 of 319 in Singapore
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Inn

Address: 2 Lloyd Road Lloyd's Inn, Singapore 239091, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $182 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lloyd's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd's Inn is a 34 room boutique hotel in the heart of Orchard Road Singapore that offers travellers a tranquil sanctuary within an urban city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Lloyd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd`s Hotel Singapore
Lloyd's Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing