We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven for the expats in a gentrified neighborhood”
Review of Tiong Bahru Bakery

Tiong Bahru Bakery
Ranked #6 of 480 Quick Bites in Singapore
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Bukit Merah
Description: Celebrating Neighbourhoods There’s always that special place in the areas we live.By habit or necessity, there are checkpoints where our paths converge, no matter where our days take us. These are the places where shared moments and experiences connect us – and they eventually come to mean far more than the function it serves. A café doesn’t merely dispense coffee. Neither does a bakery simply cook flour and put them on sale. They are strongholds founded deep in the history of the area it dwells, built upon with stories shared within and around its walls. Where perspectives are challenged, broadened, renewed; and the future can be boldly envisioned with insight and belief. Where friends are made, dreams are shared, and love is found. This unique confluence of the community drives us to excellence and new levels of inspiration in everything we do. We are dedicated to celebrating the individuals, embracing the stories and transforming the living space for people around us. We are dedicated to celebrating neighbourhoods.
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Tiong Bahru Bakery is one of the pioneers in introducing French style high end coffee shop with refined bakery products to a newly gentrified estate, in this case, Tiong Bahru area and successfully built up a following. The products are clearly above the competition while the price is high but in line with peers. The interior design is also well done to attract the largely foreign or well off local clientele.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank WarrenH750
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 340 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

If you are in the area then it's fine to come here for a visit but I would not come all the way here just for a visit here. It's popular during the weekdays especially with the expat wife crowd.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank BrianTaylor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Perfect for a quick bite to eat, we love Tiong Bahru Bakery, fantastic coffee and delicious croissants, be aware it can get really busy in the mornings, be prepared to pay a little more for this top quality bakery food,

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1976Coops
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Be prepared to wait as there are long queues. But the coffee and croissants are worth the wait. They serve desserts as well as sandwiches and there is a counter where you can help yourself to jams and butter. Overall a good experience

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Tammy7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Went looking for this place because a picture showed baguettes and I love a good one. Found it, ordered a loaf and an iced latte.
The bread was very crisp on the outside, moist and airy on the inside. Although you dont get the nice yeasty aroma of a great baguette it was satisfying. The coffee was from a small batch roaster and fine. The baristas can do the fancy designs one expects on their cappucinos. All in all a good place to be a regular.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 558edwardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Tiong Bahru Bakery also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tiong Bahru Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.