We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several Events on, but the service, food and ambiance remains!”
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Reserve with Chope
Summer Palace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 14,048 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Area/City Area
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The Summer Palace Restaurant is a long established restaurant, with good service, ambiance, delicious authentic Cantonese food and an excellent venue for dining with family, with friends or for business. In May 2016 I did a review of this place when we had lunch. This time we were invited for dinner.
The Restaurant is situated on the third floor of the Regent Hotel at 1, Cuscaden Road, set amidst elegant surroundings and attractive decor of antiques and paintings, complimented with piped Chinese music which was subdued that normal talking was possible. The lighting was more than adequate with views of the hotel’s pool through ceiling-to-floor glass panels.

The first dish served was the complimentary birthday longevity buns. They were small in size and didn’t fill you up so that you’d be able to get through the following eight course dinner menu plus a slice of the birthday cake! The barbecued suckling pig, was served next on small wheat wraps, eaten with spring onion shoots and a brown sweet sauce. The skin was very crunchy and the combination tasty.
This was followed by braised superior bird’s nest with lobster meat. The stock was very bland and lacked taste which was better after adding some vinegar. Lobster meat was well cooked. The braised South African abalone with mushrooms in oyster sauce came next. The mushrooms were firm and not tough, and the vegetables tangy and slightly bitter

This was followed by a combination of deep fried yam-coated scallops and stir-fried scallops with asparagus. I preferred the stir-fried scallops to the yam-coated ones. The asparagus was nicely cooked and complimented well with the scallops.
The steamed Star Garoupa in soy sauce was very delicious and flavourful. The fish meat fresh and firm, crunchy to the bite.
Minced pork with lettuce cup. This was the suckling pig “recycled”. The unserved pork meat returned after being chopped into very small bits and fried with pine nuts. I found the meat a little tough, but the freshness of the lettuce leave made up for this.
The stewed Ee-Fu noodles with minced shrimps and mushrooms was also good, the mushrooms adding depth of flavour and crunch.

Finally, we had the sweetened almond cream with ginko nuts and egg white. This was the eight dish served besides a slice of the birthday cake, by which time, we were pretty full already! Almonds are not everyone’s favorites, and many just ate the ginko nuts.

The service was very good. Waitresses were attentive and watchful. Wine glasses refilled continuously. Used plates changed for clean fresh plates. As there were several big dinner functions held simultaneously that night in the same hotel, car parking was tight. Nonetheless, The Summer Palace fared very well both with service and food.

Address: Regent Hotel, 1 Cuscaden Road, Level 3.
Opening hours:
Lunch:12:00 pm - 2:30 pm (Mon-Sat); 11:30 am - 2:30 pm (Sun)
Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:30 pm daily
Dress: Smart casual
Tel. +65 6725 3288

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank John-KT-Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

food is nice, service is great too. Especially the staff guy wearing spectacle, he is very attentive.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank KQuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

You can't go wrong with fish noodles. Not many authentic Cantonese cuisine do this but Summer Palace never fails. The crabmeat on braised beancurd and my favourite Sweet & Sour Pork is sweet and tangy with crispy pork soak in the savoury sauce.

Our favourite Julia restaurant manager provides attentive service as always.

For a Thursday night, it is packed. It's no wonder why.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaiLaiYeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Under Julia's watchful eye and with her helpful advice my wife and I ate a casual, light lunch and enjoyed it immensely. The Chinese rice wine (a very different version of a sake) and a cold Tsingtao were perfect complements to off menu lemon chicken and on menu lamb dishes. Both with matching fried rice that was, initially, almost too hot from the wok. Located in the Regent hotel, the restaurant in the form of a large, square room is a design classic with large tables for family and group eating. And there were many Asian families and groups enjoying a pre-Christmas Sunday lunch when we arrived somewhat late in the early afternoon and without a reservation. We were immediately made to feel welcomed guests by the hostess, and that set the tone for the whole experience. The first experience being the customary cold hand towels. Not inexpensive, but the value is there in a warm welcome, acceptable service (we had difficulty communicating with some of the younger wait staff, especially when they delivered to us food ordered for some other table), and food that was pleasing to our palates and, apparently, to the palates of many Asian nationals.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 22club58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Had an unpleasant start when we booked a table for lunch with friends and kids. We arrived early and waited till our timing and turn but yet was told to wait indefinitely as even though the guests had paid they are allowed to sit indefinitely ??

It turns out the incompetent staff didn't inform them the table is booked for a second seating and expects us to tell the guest ??? Only when the manager came to settle the issue that we got a table 25mins later.

However the food was generally delicious. Everything we ordered was enjoyable and the kids ate quite abit which made all the parents happier.

Would still recommend this restaurant to people but to Ensure that the booking staff actually do what they are supposed to do.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Alvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing