We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Nearby Hotels
US$286
US$190
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$201
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$153
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$296
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$529
US$313
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,373)
Filter reviews
1,373 results
Traveller rating
1,054
259
38
20
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,054
259
38
20
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstelok ayerchinese templedean and delucacomplimentary airportmrt stationwelcome drinkairport pickcomplimentary mini barclub streetbusiness districtsingle roomgreat boutiquetaxi rankshop housesunique hotelfree callsbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 1,373 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I can't say enough great things of the Amoy Hotel Staff. Hands down one of the best I have ever encountered. My friend and I were on Asia trip and we stayed at the Amoy Hotel before getting on our cruise. They went over and beyond with there service. Including complementary breakfast, free two person tour of the city, free beverages in the room, and more. They paid for our taxi to the Amoy Hotel on arrival from the airport and then again from the Hotel to the port where the cruise was leaving because they had a road closure on our arrival date. Also, when were returned back to Singapore from our adventures of the cruise they held our luggage in there safe storage while we roamed the city again....To top it off they let us wash up and get ourselves prep for our flight later that day in hotel room.... so nice all the staff were top notch and so so so sweet and accommodating. We can not thank Hannah enough for redirecting us and getting us on our way to cruise on time. Best Hotel.. stay with them and you will have any amazing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lilie22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Lilie22016,

Thank you for your wonderful review of AMOY Hotel Singapore.

We will definitely extend your kind compliments to our team especially our Guest Services Executive Ms. Hannah. It is always a key source of motivation for our associates to be recognized for making a positive difference for our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed the offerings provided including the breakfast, city tour, minibar refreshments and transfers.

We are grateful to you for highly recommending us as a hotel of choice to stay in Singapore. We are most certainly looking forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to reach me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require assistance with your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

It's difficult not to repeat the other reviews of this hotel. The location IS absolutely perfect: walking distance to Chinatown, La Pau Sat, Maxwell Street Hawker Stalls, Marina Bay Sands, the Gardens by the Bay. And, there's an MRT stop right next to the hotel for longer junkets (ex. Little India) or return trip relief. The service is crazy friendly, peace-instilling (thought provoking bookmarks slid under the door). Complimentary ottled water and refreshments stocked daily. And the rooms... I had a "Cosy Single", maybe 20 feet by 10 feet. About the size of a travel trailer. You know what? It was GREAT! Somehow the size of the room tucked into the hotel made tucking in after a day of work/sightseeing very relaxing. No wonder bears live in dens and birds in nests.

Room Tip: If there are two of you, you'll need to book something bigger than the "cosy single"
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterMikeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear MisterMikeSeattle,

Thank you for your positive recommendation of AMOY Hotel Singapore.

We are elated to have fulfilled your expectations on the basis of similar reviews describing the hotel as conveniently located across the train station and easily accessible to the delectable eateries around the vicinity. It is a joy to know that you liked the space and layout of our rooms and the amenities provided was up to your expectations. Our team would be most appreciative of your kind compliments to them and greatly motivated that they have created yet another delighted customer.

The AMOY team hopes to have another opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future. Please email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg if I may be of assistance should you decide to revisit us once again.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We made our first visit to Singapore on the way back to the UK from Australia. Right from the start this hotel made a great impression backed up by first class service. We were picked up, as arranged from the airport, and personally greeted at the hotel with a cocktail and swift immediate check in. Whilst the room was a little small, probably due to the fact that this is a converted Chinese temple and not a purpose built hotel, it was very comfortable, good linen and a firm mattress. The air conditioning was quite and efficient, shower was superb. The real gem about this hotel was the absolutely first class service from all members of staff, Lena was especially helpful. This hotel in interesting and in a great location surrounded by bars and restaurants, we will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PRD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear PRD1954,

Thank you for your wonderful review of AMOY Hotel Singapore and we are happy to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us.

I am delighted to read of your genial welcome experience from the airport to the reception and sipping our refreshing Alluring AMOY welcome drink. We are also pleased that you took well to the aesthetics of the hotel which was converted from old shophouses. It is a joy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed as well as the warm and hospitable service extended by our associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another positive experience with us soon. I am contactable via email at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require assistance in directly booking your return stay.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Let me preface this by saying that the rating of a hotel often depends on the price they charge. This hotel was charging 5 star prices and provided only a 3 star experience.

Singapore is filled with same-same business hotels. This one stand out on tripadvisor as an unique Heritage stay.

The good parts:
- Free airport pick up.
- Easy service
- Nice bed
- Central location.

The bad parts:
- The price is ridiculous for the quality. I paid 350 AUD for a night, when the Mandarin Oriental was only charging $360, and the fullerton was charging $320 for the same night.
- The hotel isn't really heritage. It maintained a facade but the rest of the rooms are in an office block modern building.
- The service was just adequate. If someone is struggling with their luggage at the entrance, you'd expect the hotel to give you a hand. Nope, not this place, they just watch you struggle.
- The breakfast is very very poor in quality and quantity.
- The rooms were small and some of the designs didn't make sense. For example, there is a night light next to my head which you can't switch off. I had to cover it with my t-shirt. There is a small living area with a TV but there was no seating, just an empty space, which is so very strange.
- The room I had had a tiny window with no light, and a window I cannot open, which also faced a wall.
- The hotel had none of the other things you'd expect from a 5 star place, such as room-service, pool, gym etc. I would forgive all of that if this was truly a heritage hotel, but it's essentially a fancy hostel with a fancy facade.

If you some how get a room for under 250 dollars, then consider staying here for the location. Otherwise, it's a 3 star hotel charging 5 star prices with average service and no facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank tonymchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We were in Singapore for the weekend. It was our first trip. The AMOY has great reviews and we booked there based on them. We were not disappointed. First, the hotel offers a free car service to or from the airport. You can pick one or the other. We asked for an arrival pickup, as our flight come in at 7:30am. The driver was there and got us to the hotel in 30 minutes. Second, the hotel allowed us to check in early, 8:30am early, which was great after a very long flight. I'm sure this is only offered if your room is available for early check-in, but it was wonderful that they thought of it without our asking. Third, the staff are all very helpful. In fact when we asked about getting around the city, the desk clerk led us across the street to the metro and showed us how to get ticket and use the train to get around. Wow! The location is close to many of the sites and with the train so convenient to hotel, everything was within a short train ride away. Our room was very nice, clean and well stocked, including a frig with included drinks and water. Our stay at the AMOY made the rest of our trip to Singapore one of best weekend trips ever. Next time in Singapore, we will be staying at the AMOY.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Larry_D-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear Larry_D-CO,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have extended our hospitality to you during your stay with us.

We are elated to have fulfilled your expectations on the basis of similar reviews describing the hotel as easily accessible to the train station and being close the local attractions. We are glad that you found our offerings worthwhile including the one way limousine transfer and minibar refreshments.

Our team would be most appreciative of your compliments for their hospitable service including making an exemption of extending a room for your early arrival as well as escorting you personally to the train station. I am sure they will be elated that they helped shape another positive.

We warmly welcome another opportunity of being of service to you once again. Please feel free to email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require assistance in booking your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews