We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your ordinary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #2 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I had the good fortune to stay a week at this boutique hotel while touring Singapore, and found it to be one of the highlights of my visit. But be advised...it is NOT an ordinary hotel. This became apparent when I arrived from Changi airport via the hotel-arranged limo. The exterior temple façade is almost hidden in an unimposing row of shops and restaurants. Entrance requires stepping over a foot-high wooden threshold into a small museum-like anteroom containing a replica of a peasant with shoulder board, a junk with sail, and a model of shop houses dating from the early history of Singapore.,,all symbolic of the original purpose of the building which now houses the Amoy. The attentive staff soon whisked me up to my room via the elevator, which sits well down a hallway that leads into a busy shopping mall!
My compact room housing a king-size bed was multi-level, with two windows facing out onto a branch of the mall, featuring 24-hour background music that might have been annoying except it reminded me of a wind-chime and became a source of relaxation. I soon became at home, and especially loved the rain shower with a hardwood floor, the free mini-bar/refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, the smart phone with free local and international calling, and the personalized hand-written notes that appeared on my pillow each evening. Included breakfast in the small attached restaurant was not lavish, but cooked to order and delicious. One nit: lighting in my room was not generous, especially over the desk, so I wound up working and reading in bed using the overhanging lamps.
The Amoy's location along Chinatown's Telok Ayer street is ideal for touring and business downtown. And just across that historic street is the MTR subway station of the same name, which provides quick, cool, and cheap access to almost everywhere in the city.
In summary, if you are looking for peace and quiet, local flavor, fine service, and great location, this is your dream hotel. If you are looking for unabashed luxury, opulence, splendid views of the harbor, and crowds, look to one of Singapore's many mega hotels.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms might get less noise (or music) than rooms on the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Orcas_Island_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Orcas_Island_Steve,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have extended our hospitality to you during your one week's stay with us.

We are delighted that you found value in our accommodation and the facilities as well as benefits including the arrival limousine transfer, minibar refreshments and Handy Smart phone were all to your liking. It is also assuring to note that the aesthetics of the hotel - which were originally old shop-houses which you can incidentally still see of remnants within the vicinity - brought a feeling of a bygone era. Many of our guests have given numerous good comments on the direct accessibility to the train station and nearby eateries and we are glad that it served you well too.

The AMOY team hopes to have another opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future. Please email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg if I may be of assistance should you decide to revisit us once again.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 256 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2017

Despite a little rocky start, there was a slight mix up with our reservation, we had an amazing stay. Very impressed with the staff, Waty and Johnny were fabulous, as was the security man and the housekeeping staff, so very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. The converted Chinese temple is so close to the MRT and Chinatown, there was also an amazing food hall around the corner, fabulous and cheap food for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Rebecca J,

Thank you for your positive review of AMOY Hotel Singapore.

We are delighted that the initial hiccups on your reservation was amiably resolved by the associates at arrival. It is a joy to read of your fascination for the temple turned museum which is also just across the train station. I will also be happy to pass on your appreciation to our staff particularly our Guest Services Executive Waty and Senior Guest Services Executive Johnny for having provided exemplary service during your stay.

The AMOY team hopes to welcome you back again in the near future and should you require any assistance with your future booking, please feel free to email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Very good hotel in a great area of Singapore.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service on COLLECTION only from the airport, they will book you a taxi back to the airport which costs around $25 SGD. The shuttle bus they use is a very modern Mercedes transporter van and the driver is very friendly and will help you with the luggage.

The hotel is a converted temple which is located very close to China Town and equally as close to Boats Quay & Raffles place.

The rooms are very modern and clean, all the contents of the mini bar are complimentary which is very unusual these days, another good point to make about the room is the smart phone which is again free and can take around the city with you to use the map, internet etc..

Only stayed one night but would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Andrew C,

Thank you for your kind review of AMOY Hotel Singapore.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with the inclusions like the arrival limousine transfer, minibar refreshments and Handy Smart Phone having served you well. We are also glad that you found the accessibility to Chinatown, Boat Wuay and Raffles Place convenient as well.

We do hope to have another opportunity to host you once again in the future for a longer visit. Please do email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg if I may assist you in directly booking your return stay.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This hotel is situated in a great area. When I arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make my experience and stay wonderful. There were really nice little things about this hotel that made a difference - free limo to or from the airport, free mini bar etc. Overall the stay was excellent and I will definitely stay here when I return

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annatouzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear annatouzel,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are grateful for your kind compliments to our team and will definitely pass on your appreciation to them. It is always a key source of motivation for our associates to be recognized for making a positive difference for our guests.

We do hope to have another opportunity to host you once again in the future. Please do email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg if I may assist you in directly booking your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

A converted Chinese temple in a central location to MRT and close to Chinatown. Modern hotel with all the facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great experience reflecting the culture of Singapore. Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Robin T,

Thank you for your encouraging review of AMOY Hotel and we are happy to learn that the convenient location near the train station, gracious hotel associates and adequate facilities served you well.

Please do not hesitate to reach me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require assistance with your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#12 of 319 in Singapore
7,795 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 319 in Singapore
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMOY by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMOY by Far East Hospitality

Address: 76 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 048464, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $303 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AMOY by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMOY is the latest boutique addition to Far East Hospitality. Centrally located within Far East Square, a heritage conservation project in the heart of the Central Business District with a vibrant mix of eateries and retail shops, the exclusive 37-room hotel will bring you back to an era that is both historically and culturally rich and diverse. Come and awaken your senses at AMOY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AMOY by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AMOY By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing