We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Amoy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I had a great time at the Amoy hotel, the staff was very friendly, my single room was comfortable and clean and the hotel is good located, I would definitely recommend.

The entrance, which has been kept is spectacular and the area is nice, with a lot of small restaurants and coffee places.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 341monika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear 341monika,

Thank you for your positive review of AMOY Hotel Singapore and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with our comfortable rooms and friendly staff at your service.

Please do email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg if I may assist you in directly booking your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for AMOY by Far East Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

At the risk of echoing all the other positive reviews: the Amoy provides a wonderful stay for first-time visitors to Singapore. As a small, "boutique" hotel (whatever that means), it provides a personalized service (all questions cheerfully answered at the front desk). The room's minibar (non-alcoholic) drinks and the in-room snacks are "free" (yes, I know that nothing is ever really free, but...). The free pick-up at the airport (your own private limo) is a blessing to the bleary-eyed arriving exhausted at Changi. The free breakfast at the upscale gourmet food shop right next door is both bounteous and has a decent variety of choice. The hotel's location is ideal - right on the boundary between China Town and the financial district, with a major "street food" mall (a gazillion choices of cuisine) at cheap prices just a couple of blocks away, and the excellent metro system has a stop just across the street. So stop agonizing on where to stay in Singapore and just go book the Amoy. We have traveled the world extensively, and the Amoy is right at the top in hotel experiences for those of us who studiously avoid nose-bleed prices.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Michael G,

Thank you for your delightful review of AMOY Hotel Singapore.

We are elated to have fulfilled your expectations on the basis of similar positive reviews describing the high service levels of the staff. We are pleased that the inclusions in your room like the minibar refreshments, one way limousine transfer and breakfast offerings served you well. Many guests have commented favourably on the location close to the Chinatown and Marina Bay vicinity - we are happy that you endorse this too.

The AMOY Team warmly welcome another opportunity of being of service to you once again. Please feel free to email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require assistance in booking your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

This is a good small boutique hotel with lots of character and friendly, helpful staff. It's on the edge of the financial district and in walking distance of hawker markets and Chinatown. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, but the layout of the hotel is a bit like a rabbit warren due to its historic nature (part of the hotel was once a Chinese temple, the entrance is lovely) and the furnishings do feel a little worn, which is why I am giving it 4 stars rather than 5 stars! It's a nice idea to have free snacks and drinks (which include one Carlsberg beer - the other drinks are soft drinks), but I'd rather have fresh fruit or something fresh and healthy than the chips and Asian rice crackers supplied. The sparkling fruit drink offered on arrival was great.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Jenny W,

Thank you for your encouraging review.

We are delighted that you found our rich history and heritage especially the museum turned temple to your liking. We are equally elated that our location offered convenience in commuting to the Financial District and the eateries around the vicinity. It is also reassuring to note that the staff in general, provided warm and attentive service.

Thank you as well for taking the time to share your feedback on areas of improvement which we will review on the feasibility.

The AMOY team hopes to have another opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future. Please email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg if I may be of assistance should you decide to revisit us once again.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Very good hotel. Very convenient location (only a minute walk from Telok Ayer station on SMRT). Free mini-bar and free international call to several countries. A little bit narrow but very clean and good room. And all staffs were very friendly. I will stay again whenever I visit Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nes426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear nes426,

Thank you for your encouraging review.

We are delighted to learn that you found our location highly convenient with the access to the train station as well as finding good value on the inclusions like the minibar refreshments and Handy Smart phone.

Please feel free to email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require any assistance with your return stay.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Very unique way to enter this boutique hotel through a restored Chinese temple. You do have to step over a ledge which is cumbersome with luggage - but there is hotel staff there to help you. The ledge is there we were told to ward off evil spirits per Chinese tradition. The staff is very courteous, friendly, with great customer service. For example, I had to leave the hotel at 7:00 am tomorrow before breakfast is available at the neighboring Dean and Delucas. So, they ordered me a breakfast to go and set up a taxi for me. Very friendly and personal!

The hotel is in the Chinatown district just west of the Singapore River and not too far from Raffles and other Central Singapore sights.

The rooms are compact - but everything is right there. Two things not at all common with other hotels - drinks in the room refrigerator are complementary and there is a cell phone in the room to make phone calls to selected countries such as the U.S, the U.K., and Australia.

Overall, very good with staff that shows they really cares. There was one problem in that I returned in the late afternoon and I saw that the room was not made up. After I called housekeeping, they were at my room to clean it up very promptly. I found that I had accidentally last night hit the "do not clean room" so the fault was mine - not their's. Their response was quick and outstanding.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chuck U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasFernandez, Hotel Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Chuck U,

Thank you for your positive review of AMOY Hotel Singapore.

We are glad that you enjoyed our arrival experience through the temple turned museum as well as the reason for the ledge being placed at an awkward spot. We are also happy that our team were accommodating in especially having a pre-packed breakfast due to your departure being prior to the breakfast operational times. Many guests have also found value in the inclusions like the Handy Smart phone and minibar refreshments as well as the room amenities - we are delighted that this served you well.

We look forward to you serving you again in the near future. Please feel free to email me at douglasfernandez@fareast.com.sg should you require any assistance with your return stay.

Kind Regards,
Douglas

"Every Journey is an Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 316 in Singapore
7,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 316 in Singapore
22,424 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 316 in Singapore
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMOY by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMOY by Far East Hospitality

Address: 76 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 048464, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $292 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AMOY by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMOY is the latest boutique addition to Far East Hospitality. Centrally located within Far East Square, a heritage conservation project in the heart of the Central Business District with a vibrant mix of eateries and retail shops, the exclusive 37-room hotel will bring you back to an era that is both historically and culturally rich and diverse. Come and awaken your senses at AMOY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AMOY by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AMOY By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing