We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good services and food was just great ”
Review of The Black Swan - CLOSED

The Black Swan
Price range: US$8 - US$76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Set in a 1930s landmark in the CBD, The Black Swan injects fresh glamour and life into an otherwise cold and mechanical district. The glorious Art Deco-style institution pays homage to New York’s canonised steakhouse trope, offering a grand expression of chophouse classics paired with an inspired winelist. An alluring amalgam of restaurant, bar and urban respite, The Black Swan’s extensive dining experience includes a lush alfresco garden patio, on top of an exceptional private dining experience in the bank’s former vault. The Black Swan’s intimate mezzanine lounge, The Powder Room, specialises in theatrical craft cocktails that hark to the free-spirited revelry of old-world drinking institutions. The restaurant was awarded Tatler’s Best New Restaurant of the Year in its first year of opening.
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Came back here again for dinner again with the family. Food was fantastic so was the services. Rachel and Johnson took great care of us. We were very impressed with the manager Carol too. She came by a few times to make sure that everything was alright.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank VanessaV1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Vanessa V,

Thank you for your kind words about The Black Swan!

It was a great pleasure to have served you. We endeavour to make your experience with us nothing short of wonderful!

We are delighted to have the pleasure of serving you, and hope to see you back at The Black Swan soon!

Yours Truly,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016

Came here with my friend for lunch so ordered the set lunches which looked decently priced, until we asked for bread and were told that we had to pay extra. If you were to add in the price of the bread, you could go to a higher end restaurant so we decided to skip the bread. The food was okay, main highlight was the chic décor.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllisonK992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Allison K,

Thank you for writing a review of The Black Swan.

We are grateful for your kind praises about ambience.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and have shared your comments with the rest of the team.

We hope that we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Yours Truly.

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Decided to make a reservation for lunch last week to meet up with friends/colleagues. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Food was good too. Had their set lunch and loved the desserts especially. Heard their oysters are good. Definitely going back there, but occasionally. :)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ireneneo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear ireneneo2015,

Thank you very much for choosing The Black Swan!

We find great delight in making your experience with The Black Swan awesome!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The Black Swan is a must do location for an serious lunchers, diners or cocktailers. For lunch we both had the West Australian octopus salad and beef cheeks. The salad was a little disappointing but ok. The beef cheeks, which came with creamy mash and some other vegetables was a real treat. Finished off with an excellent Melbourne style latte. All on the fixed lunch for S$42.00 definitely value for money. Staff were great, atmosphere also great, Will definitely be back,

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Aegisint,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

While your compliments about our food, especially our beef cheeks and salad from our set lunch menu as well as our hand crafted latte are deeply appreciated.

Your comments regarding our octopus salad have been taken into our careful consideration and passed on to the team for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

First impression of The Black Swan when you enter is the wow factor. The interiors are reminiscent of 1930s art deco style decor, with lots of brass details and warm lighting. We came for the prix fixe lunch menu. My colleague had the gazpacho soup, and barramundi, which she said was excellent. I started with the radish and endive salad, which came out as a mixed green salad (no endives) with only 1 1/4 walnut bits in it followed by the Black Swan burger. The salad was still good even though it didn't have endives and just one walnut. The burger was nothing to rave about. Not sure I'll be back for lunch, but I'll definitely come back to try the happy hour oysters and cocktails. With an ambiance like this, I'm willing to give it another go.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dragnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thelobeholdgroup, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear dragnette,

We're glad you love our space as much as we do. The historic Art Déco building really showers The Black Swan with some Great Gatsby glamour!

We appreciate your constructive feedback with regards to our starters and have shared your comments with the rest of the team.

We are delighted to have the pleasure of serving you, and hope to see you back at The Black Swan soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.