We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Unforgettable Experience!”
Review of NOX - Dine in the Dark - CLOSED

NOX - Dine in the Dark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Arab Street
Description: At NOX – Dine In The Dark, we invite you to plunge into an intriguing new world of mystery and sensation you have never experienced before, and join us on a culinary journey through taste, smell, touch and sound, in total darkness. Seated in our pitch-black dining room, you will be guided and served by blind or visually impaired individuals that have been specially trained to offer guidance and reassurance to sighted guests. It is truly a rich human experience when the roles are reversed and the blind become your eyes, opening your mind to a deeper consciousness. Also, discover our exquisite menu crafted from the finest ingredients by our Chef de Cuisine and his team, and enjoy our fine wine selection and unique signature cocktails customized for each individual's palate. NOX - Dine in the Dark is definitely more than just dining, it is a unique mind-altering sensory experience! Experience this new European dining trend first-hand and 'see' it for yourself!
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I have been here twice and both the times, I have been more than impressed. They now have a vegetarian menu and it is very tasty. The food was so good!! The science behind this is obviously that when one sense is blocked, the others amplify and this definitely checks out. My taste buds were exploding!! The food was like magic. What made this experience unforgettable, although, was the service. Jeremy was incredibly helpful and he took great care of us. The waiters, who were blind also took really amazing care of us and that made a huge impact for me and my family. The staff and waiters were helpful and extremely welcoming. They were all friendly and treated us very well.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anjmehta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Anjali2580,

Thank you for visiting us again and for introducing this unique way of dining to your family. We are really glad you enjoyed it a second time and are grateful for the compliments towards our food and staff.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to bring this unforgettable experience to more of your friends and family.

Have a fantastic week ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,414 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

Although a bit pricey, this dining experience is truly unique and worth trying at least once. The staff was wonderfully pleasant and accommodating. You begin the experience in the downstairs lounge to start with drinks, and then you are briefed about what to expect in the upstairs dining rooms. Your group then meets the serving staff (all of whom are blind), who then take you upstairs in pitch black and assist with seating you at your table. The "Mystery Menu" is 3 courses (4 dishes each), and is served in small bowls for easy consumption. It was quite interesting trying to determine the ingredients in each dish, which resulted in fun conversation with my dining partners. After the meal, you're brought back downstairs where you can have more drinks (optional), and the staff shows you each course on an iPad and describes the ingredients (you fill out a questionnaire with your guesses prior to the big reveal). Overall, it was a fun evening with good drinks and tasty cuisine.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iGino916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear iGino916,

Thank you for recommending NOX - Dine in the Dark and it is definitely a must-try at least once!

It is great to know that you loved the dining experience and had fun conversations about the food with your dining partners. Thank you for the compliments about the drinks as well. We hope you managed to have a chat with at least one of our visually impaired staff and got a better perspective of the world from their point of view.

We look forward to meeting you again soon and till then, stay awesome!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

It is an amazing experience to dine in total darkness.
Upon arrival , the impeccable service impresses you and starts you off on a great dining experience. At the lounge downstairs, you are given the drinks menu and not the food menu (you don't get to choose the food). They guide you to how to eat the dishes and explain how things are done upstairs in pitch black environment. Once you have chosen your drinks (top up $) , you are offered to use the bathroom and lock your items in their locker provided. You are not allowed any personal items upstairs.
After that, you will be introduced to the staff in charge of you (pls note they are blind or partially blind so don't make rude remarks like - can you see) and led upstairs. Holding shoulders of the staff or your partner, you slowly walk into the dark. It can be a little scary but trust the staff and trust yourself.
The food is brought to you along with your drinks. They have a setup so don't be an irritating person to mess with the staff and change the table setting or stack your food trays etc. The food is amazing. Not knowing what you get, just try everything. Delicious food is served to you with great service. Your other senses are heightened and it can be a little daunting. Your tastebuds seem to tast everything. After being in the dark for about 30 minutes, my eyes hurt a little and I got a bit dizzy and breathless. Distracted myself and continued to enjoy the food.
You will be led back downstairs and remember to keep your eye close and open them slowly to get your eyes adjusted back to the light. The staff will give you some questionnaire to fill and show you the food you just ate. Fun to guess the dishes !
Prices are not cheap but it's worth the experience. Menu changes time to time so it's not boring. But I think one time experience is good enough .
I would recommend this.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Rebecca L,

It was great having you over for dinner especially for a birthday celebration! Thank you for the detailed review and for the recommendation.

We are glad you enjoyed the one-of-a-kind dining experience and felt it was fun and interesting. We look forward to meeting you again in the future, especially during special occasions, for another round of great food and good fun. Maybe you'll get more dishes correct the next time!

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It's a novel concept, eating in complete darkness, guided by blind waiters. My girlfriend and I went looking for an interesting experience and we did get it. Enjoyed the guessing game of what food we were eating, identifying the dish as well as the individual components that make it up. However, the food itself was just so-so, and didn't really find anything to rave about. Worth trying once, but struggling to think of what to come back for.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Stephtan,

Thank you for dining with us with your girlfriend. We are glad you found the experience a fun and interesting one. However, it is unfortunate that you did not find the food up to your standard, as majority of our guests love the food, and would come back for it.

With a concept like ours, there are many things to come back for - the constant change of menu (all 12 dishes) every 6-8 weeks, the awesome cocktails, the friendly staff, the visually impaired hosts who takes care of your needs in the dark and the stories they have to tell about how they deal with their lack of sight, and how they perceive the world (if you are interested), as well as the fun and mystery of trying and guessing what you are eating on a 12 dish menu (foodies love having competitions among themselves). Some people come back because we are able to 'magically' cater to their absurd dietary requirements and would find it a hassle to find another restaurant that would cater to them. Not to mention the people who feel so touched and inspired by the memorable experience that they would recommend it to friends and family.

There are a lot of reasons why people come back and each one is personal. We hope to see you back some time in the future and hopefully, you will take away more that what you did the first time.

Have a fantastic week!

Cheers,
Rachel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The greeting on ground level was warm and instructional. This is a very different experience! We were asked our dining preferences and any dietary requirements, then after shedding all vestiges of electronic and light emitting devices we were escorted upstairs in complete inky darkness by a sight impaired waiter, seated and the table layout, courses etc. explained.

You cannot describe the feelings of distress (not being able to see anything and rely on your other senses) the anticipation of what you were going to get in each course (you are given 4? square dishes in each course with instructions on eating clockwise.) the idea is you are meant to guess what is in each, this will be revealed after your meal over a debrief downstairs.

I was surprised at how quickly you would rely on where things were and could quite easily find my wine/water/utensils within minutes almost every time!

I admire the wait staff who could navigate the restaurant without collision. Very impressed!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Non-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Non-Cat,

It is great to know that you enjoyed your dine-in-the-dark experience with us and that you found it to be a different and sensory one!

We hope we left a good impression and look forward to meeting you again soon, especially after we change our menu in August. Hopefully next time you can take the time to have a chat with one of our visually impaired hosts, and get a better idea on how they perceive the world.

Till then, have a lovely week ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NOX - Dine in the Dark also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.