We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,823)
Filter reviews
1,823 results
Traveller rating
767
724
208
72
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
724
208
72
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club street boutique hotel rooftop bar ann siang hill maxwell food centre maxwell road executive room outdoor jacuzzi great boutique shop houses rooms are small chinatown area quiet street bars and restaurants hawker centre local food mrt stations
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 1,823 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I really liked my stay at the Scarlet Hotel.

Positives: nice decor, rooftop pool, the rooftop restaurant, the Italian restaurant, friendly staff.

Negatives: the room was small without a window. Confirm at the time of booking.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSgTeam, Group Operations Director at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear rita s,

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore! Thank you so much for your complimentary review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our personalised service, outdoor jacuzzi, ARIA on the Roof and Casa Tartufo.

As for the size of our guestroom, please allow me to share that The Scarlet Singapore was converted from a heritage building (comprising a combination of 13 shophouses built in 1868 and an 1924 Art Deco building), which has been meticulously restored. As such, all our rooms have unique layouts and configurations.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again.

Graciously Yours
Manoharan Mannarlingam
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

our room was an executive balcony room.it was quite small,but the balcony was great,very 1920s.with its potted palms.the staff were good and had our room ready early,as we arrived at 8-30am.there is a Jacuzzi on the 2nd.floor,which is clean and well maintained.there are heaps of restaurants and also a 7eleven close by.this is a quirky hotel with its red and black décor.keeping with the theme of days gone by!

Room tip: balcony rooms are worth the bit extra.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSgTeam, Group Operations Director at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear mary m,

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore! Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are truly pleased that you liked our quirky hotel décor and found our hotel team helpful and friendly.

As you can appreciate, we are a unique boutique hotel located in a heritage building (comprising of a combination of 13 shophouses built in 1868 and an 1924 Art Deco building), which has been meticulously restored. As such, our guestrooms have unique layouts and configurations.

Our location in bustling Chinatown is indeed convenient as we are within close proximity to the hip bars and restaurants of Ann Siang Hill, 2 MRT stations for easy access to other tourist attractions in Singapore.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Scarlet Singapore soon!

Graciously Yours
Manoharan Mannarlingam
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a one night staycation for my boyfriend's birthday and were really impressed by the hotel! Got one of those really good deals from the HotelQuickly app so our room was just a deluxe with no windows, and a skylight but we found it pretty cool nonetheless. The room is spacious, beautifully decorated and has a really comfy bed and pillows. The plus point of not having windows is we were not bothered by any noise from the street at all and the skylight was quite a bit away from the bed so we weren't bothered by light pouring in come morning. The staff was lovely and the amenities sufficient. Walking down the hallway is an experience; you're basically traversing through old shophouses down a windy path and with the boudoir-ish decor you feel transported away from sterile Singapore.

Perhaps the only thing we didn't like was the outdoor jacuzzi. It had bubbles yes but it wasn't warm much less hot so we didn't stay too long there. Would've been lovely if it was heated. We spent most of the time outside as we picked a place to crash after a good night out but would've gladly just spent the whole day hanging out at the hotel if we had more time. Perhaps a suite room next?

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lestari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSgTeam, Group Operations Director at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Lestari H,

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore! Thank you for your 5-star review and generous compliments on our unique hotel layout, décor and guestroom! We are delighted to have happy guests like you.

We are sorry that your experience with the outdoor jacuzzi was not up to your expectation. The jacuzzi is heated but the water temperature might not have been to your preference. We are following up on this to ensure that we set it at a comfortable temperature for all guests.

During your next visit, do check out ARIA on the Roof with its beautiful views of Chinatown while having delicious Sicilian small plates and signature cocktails.

We look forward to your return visit soon!

Graciously Yours
Manoharan Mannarlingam
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

It's the second time we've stayed here, which says something. The hotel is small and quirky and if you are expecting a Hilton/Sheraton you'll be disappointed. The staff were again friendly and very helpful and "rushed" a room for us when we turned up early for our booking (8 hours early). This time round our room was a bit small and the air conditioning is definitely due an upgrade. Other than that the location is very convenient for Club Street, Chinatown, Maxwell food court and only a short walk from Clarke Quay. Towels and bedding were of good quality and comfortable. We were missing an iron/ironing board and it was delivered within 5mins of placing the call. Speaking of Club Street, this time we stayed we were in a room not directly adjoining that street, which can get a bit noisy at the weekends, and didn't hear a peep. If you like boutique hotels its definitely worth a try. If I could I'd have given it 3.5 to 3.75. Not "average" by any measure but also not just quite "very good".

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank scjhwill2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSgTeam, Group Operations Director at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Scjhwill,

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore! Thank you for your continued patronage. The hotel team works hard to ensure our guests have a memorable experience with us and we are gratified that our efforts are recognised.

As for the size of our guestrooms, to share with you, The Scarlet Singapore was converted from a heritage building (a combination of 13 shophouses built in 1868 and an 1924 Art Deco building). As such, all our rooms have unique layouts and configurations.

Your feedback is valuable to us as we work continually to enhance our guests' experience and anticipate their needs. On your next visit, do contact our Front Desk if you need assistance and we would be happy to accommodate.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet Singapore.

Graciously Yours
Manoharan Mannarlingam
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Lovely little boutique hotel just off Chinatown. Great location, clean and unique. Friendly staff. All you would want if you wanted a short visit. Right next to the Maxwell Rd hawker centre for good cheap food. Bars very convenient and a nice rooftop bar . Prices in Chinatown aren't cheap so be prepared , but there are more expensive place too. A great little find if you don't mind small rooms

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jamesscot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSgTeam, Group Operations Director at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear jamesscot63,

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore! Thank you so much for your complimentary review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Scarlet heritage boutique experience, our helpful service, our ideal location and the wide range of culinary options available within the vicinity of our hotel. We love ARIA too – the restaurant and bar at our rooftop that offers delicious Sicilian small plates, signature cocktails and beautiful views of Chinatown.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Graciously Yours
Manoharan Mannarlingam
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews