We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and not nice”
Review of Hotel 81 - Gold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Gold
Ranked #220 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I know it says budget but the front counter people were not helpful. asked about a maxi taxi and they basically dismissed us saying it couldn't be done. rooms were smaller than a backpackers and a lot more expensive.

Room Tip: if you cant find anything else only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suelchardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

The room in quite small but acceptable for only 2 persons occupying. It was a very clean, and secured place. Well worth the budget, and very economical since everything you need (e.g. food items and toiletries) is just around the corner. It is also just a few walks to the Bus Station.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnonymousFilipina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear AnonymousFilipina,

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay here.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

My room and bathroom was very clean just as I want it, however, I didn't get enough restful sleep because of the noise outside the corridor. It almost feels like the people outside are just standing right next to you. Also, don't bring your children here; I could *clearly* hear the moaning and gasping of someone enjoying their activity. Oh boy, I didn't expect that.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank neiltala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The reason for the poor rating is partly due to the front desk customer service. The big guy wearing a black suit at the front desk assuming to be a manager appears to be unfriendly and ignore us while me and my friends checking in. Completely disregard us as a hotel guest.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank redzuan_isa_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear redzuan_isa_sg,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Gold. As per CCTV footage, the manager on duty was conducting his online submissions to the management. Hence, we apologize for the inconveniences. Though we do understand your sentiments, we hope that you do continue your patronage with us.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Room environment overall was acceptable, but a bit small for 2 people. Not satisfied with the bathroom, while taking a warm shower all of the sudden every few minutes a spike of extremely hot water will spray for a couple of second, and also the toilet seat is crooked.
The sound insulation also quite bad, it was like 24 hours also having their housekeeping.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenThoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#142 of 317 in Singapore
582 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#193 of 317 in Singapore
175 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#204 of 317 in Singapore
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#166 of 317 in Singapore
297 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#128 of 317 in Singapore
837 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#184 of 317 in Singapore
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Gold

Address: 20 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398738, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $62 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Gold 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 81 Gold has suspended operations and will be undergoing major refurbishment. We expect to serve you again in late December 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Flight Raja Travels Singapore PTE LTD, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Gold Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing