We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 81 - Gold
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$133
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$353
US$253
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$240
US$202
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$153
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$92
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$297
US$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$529
US$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
24
70
94
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
70
94
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtaljunied mrtgeylang roadsmall roomsoap dispenserwet roomcheap eatsclean hotelmin walkfourth floorchangi airportfood courtbed sheetsthe air conditioningcomfortable stayshort staylocalization
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Good Location. Easy access to MRT and buses. There are many food outlets nearby. Small but clean and well maintained rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. very good for short stay and budget travellers. Value for money

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rashminilokuliyanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear rashminilokuliyanage,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Gold. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Extended a business trip by 2 days to explore the city of Singapore. This hotel is worth the value for money.

Do not expect anything fancy, this hotel is perfect for those who are on a budget and want to get a good night's rest.
Located close (5 to 7 minutes walk) to the Al Juneid MRT station, this hotel has small yet comfortable rooms. Bathroom is small with just enough space for one person to stand. Room is also pretty tight, but enough to crash. No bathroom amenities provided. No breakfast provided.
Looking around Singapore for a hotel within my Budget, this hotel located in Geylang district is one to vouch for. I've read reviews of this hotel being located within the red light district of the city. However even returning back to the hotel after 10 pm, I didn't find any such problems with the area.

If you're on a budget and want to explore this beautiful city, this is a good option

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Rajesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rajesh S,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Gold. We're glad our hotel location was able to serve you well for your business trip. Thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel 81 Gold gives you exactly what you want, comfort and value for money. We stayed here when we were attending a music festival so we weren’t in the hotel for too long. The rooms are small but nice and although a wet room is never great fun, it was okay. The hotel is in a busy part of the city but noise was not an issue. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and we took a pleasant but sticky walk to the Gardens By The Bay which didn’t take too long.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Greg P,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Gold. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that our hotel location has enhanced your stay here in Singapore.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

This newly renovated Hotel 81 ticks all the boxes. A typically small room for the money, the room the best budget hotel experience I have enjoyed in Singapore. The room and bathroom were cleverly done, the decor appealing, and the staff helpful. The air conditioning was exceptionally quiet. The are two subway stations within a 10 minute walk, Aljunied and Mountbatten. Great location for varied cheap eats

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travellioncbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Travellioncbr,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Gold. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thank you for the kind words.
We really look forward to welcome you back very soon.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Pros- The hotel is what we needed for our short time in Singapore, somewhere to sleep, close to the metro, close to the airport, a place to keep our bags. The room was clean, the shower was lovely and warm with strong pressure.

Cons- The staff weren't very friendly on arrival, giving only information that you asked. The terms and conditions you must sign when you check in are a little strange (one saying they have the right to kick you out for no reason at any point?). Tiny room, could barely walk around the bed. The shower room was a tiny wet room, you shower and the whole thing is soaked. Cheap walls, you could hear every movement of anyone on the same level as you coming through the hall.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyds_Locations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Gold, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear lyd_turley,

Warmest greetings from Hotel 81 Gold. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a comfortable stay. However, we have also taken note on the negative points that you have mentioned. We will definitely put your comments into consideration.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews