We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$164
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$357
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$266
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$289
US$223
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$692
US$503
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
21
82
87
38
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
82
87
38
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat location and staffsolve the problemshower and toiletpublic transportchecking outshoppingkettle
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Staying here the night of 6/02/18 and sadly i have another 3 nights allready booked on 8-11/02/18.
I booked with booking.com, while looking at the pictures it seemd very basic but ok.
When arriving in the hotel the staff were very friendly and nice. But the room is so small its pathetic, nothing like the pictures on booking.
( i will add some real pictures ) you cant move in it because its so small. No mini bar ( fridge ) no closet for cloths and most disturbing is the bathroom wich is like 1meter square.
Hot water rans out after 5 minutes and when i asked about the reason i was told by reception that its probobly because alot of guests are having a shower at the same time and its a shared boiler ( water heater ).
Location is good but not worth it ! For the same price you can get a real hotel just a few minutes away.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Alon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Alon P,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Chinatown. We are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. Nonetheless, we still wish to welcome you in any of our branches for your future visits to Singapore.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I have been trying the cheapest hotels in Chinatown. They have been ok. This time I decided to go up budget a bit. It was a very good idea. Hotel 81 is right outside the entrance to the MRT railway station at Chinatown. You walk out of the Station across the street and there you are. The reception was friendly and very helpful and willing to address any questions. The room (on the ground floor) was very clean, a little small - no matter, there is an excellent ensuite shower and toilet, no sharing! The bed was very comfortable and the aircon very efficient. All in all for $129 Singapore it was a very fair price. 5 stars for location, 5 stars for the reception and 5 stars for the room. What could be better. I have a place to stay in Singapore now.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room. Very quiet. There is a lift so no stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DirkGentlyWhianWhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear DirkGentlyWhianWhian,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Chinatown. Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience at the hotel and had a great time during your stay with us. Thank you once again for your compliments

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We stayed in the hotel for couple night, the room is small and compact. Elevator was a bit shaky. Dusty under the bed and cabinet, but the Location is the BEST easy access to everywhere. You can find good food, museums, shopping surrounding the hotel. It will be better if they improve the cleanliness. Overall is quite good value for the money.

Room Tip: I would suggest to book upper level room to avoid the noise because the hotel is always busy.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We did not know at the time of booking that this hotel has a reputation amongst locals as being a “love hotel” that’s rentable by the hour. It was something that my relatives (Singaporeans) and a taxi driver told us after we arrived. Nevertheless, I couldn’t have guessed if I hadn’t been told. The room was very basic and small but it was clean and smelled fine. The free WiFi worked perfectly. We were here for just one day. When we tried to have an afternoon nap, it was quite noisy - mainly due to the phone in the service room (which was near our room) often ringing. At night, however, it was quiet, and we got a good night’s sleep. I do think it’s expensive for the quality of the room (219 Singapore dollars for one night, on New Year’s Eve it has to be said) but I guess we were paying for the location. We wanted to be in the centre of Chinatown and that’s exactly what we got.
Very friendly reception staff.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wanderlustfulJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The room was very clean and comfortable.
The rainfall shower was really nice.
Wifi worked well.
Coffee and tea are included in the room.
Elevator worked well and was fast.
The price is good, the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volgapreshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear volgapreshy,

Thank you for your warm and positive review on TripAdvisor.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews