We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Ville Hotel
Ranked #225 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Not what u think it is...room too small,constructions next to it and service was poor(unfriendly)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

I booked this hotel as my frnd suggested it was a good hotel
Actually when i reached there @ 9.30 am morning from Woodlands they charged 30SGD for early checkin.....but that was ok compared to 2 pm checkin....
Hotel is just one bus stop away from vivocity i.e. a gateway to Sentosa & Universal studios singapore,,,,,,harbour front is one more stop away...
Overall room was preety small but bed, tv, bathroom, wc were all ok .....take the back side view as front side is road facing and noise is slight issue.
But overall its a one time hotel....next time i will stay closer to the city as dont wanna miss the hustle bustle and night life of the city,.....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here from December 21-24 (4 days and 3 nights). We got a standard room with a queen-sized bed and simple amenities. Our stay included complementary breakfast which was served in a covered open-area at the back of the hotel. The staff was nice enough to explain that the hotel was undergoing reservations, thus the location of the meal. Meals were decent with continental choices. However, breakfast food was limited to cereals, milk, tea, coffee, something fried, and something steamed. By the fourth day, we were a bit tired of what we were eating. Since the hotel is quite far from the tube and the crowd, it's quite difficult to get to the hawker areas. Plus side to this though is you are away from the noise and the crowd, best of all, you are located closer to Sentosa.
The best way to get around from the hotel is to take the bus which is just a short walk away. This is how we got to Sentosa, Jurong Bird Park (bus then tube), and the Chinese Gardens (bus then tube).
I would recommend staying here if you plan to explore the city and spend little time in your room. You get really decent amenities, good service, and decent breakfast from this hotel without sacrificing your budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerniceManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

STAFF

We stayed at this hotel just recently and I'd say I would rate it very good in terms of service. The staff were very helpful in almost anything that we need. They are very friendly and accommodating. (especially those front desk officers at night). You call them, and they'll respond in no time.

EXCELLENT FOR BUDGET TRAVELLERS

We booked two rooms and the price is cheap, but the quality and ambience are much more than what you pay for. Especially in Singapore, where hotel rates are very high.

LOCATION

The downside of this hotel probably is its location. If you want to shop, see the city, stroll along, or at least eat,you would always need to ride a cab which costs around 7 dollars during the day, and around 14 dollars at night. And for a family of 6, we always needed to hire two cabs, so whatever we saved from booking at this hotel were staved off because of the cost of transportation. You could go by bus, though, It'll be much cheaper - 1.10 dollars. But, if you're not patient to wait, and you're not so sure what bus stop you're stopping to, taking a bus ride is a BIG NO!

Whereas, if you book a hotel near Orchard Road -- everything is almost accessible. or even if you need to take a cab, it wouldn't cost you that much.


BEST PART!

I love the breakfast! (no pun intended) The menu is since time immemorial. =) hehe

It comes with unlimited beans, hotdogs, chicken nuggets, baked potatoes, loaf of bread, butter, peanut butter, spreads, cereals, milk, coffee.

You would be served exactly the same menu everyday. I'm sure the lady preparing the breakfast can already cook those food even with eyes closed and hands tied.

My siblings and I really the unlimited servings of baked potatoes and chicken nuggets.
But my dad and aunt said that after five days of stay, they felt nausea at the sight of beans and chicken nuggets.


IF YOU LOVE Chicken nuggets, this is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liletparedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We were staying in the "renovated" room.

Negatives:
The room was VERY small (might be ok for 1 person or just few nights)
There was a machine beeping constantly in the corridor
The towels were clean but full of marks, also marks on the bedsheets
Not an ideal hotel for a couple
The area is not the greatest
Too expensive for what it is!!!! For a few more $ per night we moved into another hostel, by far better!!!!!

Positives
The wifi was working asap
Good TV
Generally the room was clean
Staff was friendly

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelineKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
#217 of 319 in Singapore
101 reviews
Bay Hotel Singapore
#109 of 319 in Singapore
908 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#285 of 319 in Singapore
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 319 in Singapore
282 reviews
Hotel 81 - Osaka
#223 of 319 in Singapore
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Ville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Ville Hotel

Address: 512 Kampong Bahru Road Harbour Ville, Singapore 099448, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $84 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Ville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Ville Hotel is a Singapore boutique hotel ideal for travellers seeking budget-friendly accommodation. Within close proximity are various attractions such as the Universal Studios Singapore (USS), Sentosa island, Chinatown, Southern Ridges, Mount Faber, and the lively Raffles City. The hotel is just a mere 3-minute drive away from the harbour and a 5-minute drive from the Central Business District. Changi International Airport is just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Ville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Ville Singapore
Hotel Harbour Ville
Harbour Ville Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing