We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
108
238
75
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
238
75
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joo chiat road paya lebar mrt geylang serai mrt station fairprice supermarket budget hotel minute walk changi airport bus stop no window without windows mini fridge rooms are clean hotel is located free wifi compared to other hotels local food
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2014

Had a 4 night stay here. Very clean rooms, regular tidying by staff, helpful and friendly reception. No breakfast available, but lots of local food centres within 5 min walk distance, and we were allowed to bring in take away into our rooms. But no plates, spoon, etc are not available neither in hotel nor in stores around. Coffee making facilities and air conditioning were good. Don't expect u can open the window, coz we had DTS sounding of traffic, moreover it didn't matter coz we were there to roam around not sit by a balcony!!!! Small bathroom, adjustable. Stable and very good internet connection with print option.
Overall, a good hotel, good price, close to airport and plenty of taxi at hotel entrance, 5min walk to bus stop too.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nihari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Recently had a four night stay in this hotel. I think without doubt the best of it's kind in this area. Very large room, excellent aircon system, comfortable beds, a great shower and modern bathroom. Friendly staff and easy walking distance to the nearest train station. If you need to stay in this area it's a very good and affordable choice.

Room Tip: I had an internal room, no windows but quiet & a I slept like a log
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTSAWARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

Love the atmosphere of the hotel once we step into the lobby. Quirky sofa pillows and a wooden swing greets us as we walk towards the front desk. Staff greeted us with the most friendliest smile. Checking in was a breeze. We book thru booking.com and got a double deluxe room. The room was fantastic clean and modern. Maybe hotel is still new.
Will definitely come back to stay! Keep up the standard Champion!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Was here for a short stay with a few friends. Room was clean and staffs are friendly. Lots of local food around and there was free parking at the hotel premises. Will recommend to my friends who are coming to Singapore for a short stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank U1749RRjamesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

You can`t do better at this price in Singapore. Have stayed 4 times over last 10 years or so.
Used to be called Gateway Hotel so if you have an older taxi driver tell him that. Younger driver will want the street No (60) to GPS it. I paid SGD 97/night via Agoda who are very reliable as are Expedia. Excellent for short stay stop-overs in Sing.
Rooms, newly refurbed, are very good. Staff now v friendly and helpful. They have obviously paid attention to reviews.

Communications: Free local calls from your room or lobby (dial 7 for line). Free Wi-Fi is good but would not connect in my room (224). Fine in comfy lobby. Staff offered to get their IT guy in to fix it but short stay so told them not to bother.

Getting there: If you have luggage, family etc do not take MRT.It is 10 mins min walk from nearest stations (Eunos or Payer Labar) and Singapore is hot! Get a cab for 12-15 SGD.

District: Multi cultural. A bit of a red light area but you could take your grandma to this hotel. In my case difficult as there is not yet an MRT link from heaven. If you read the hotel rules beside the bed, immorality is not allowed! Quaint but it means that this is most definitely not a short time joint.
Many low price excellent restaurants. Western breakfast a bit difficult as hotel has no coffee shop. Hint to Champion, do a deal with next door. You could walk 15mins down Joo Chiat towards Parkway, past all the Karaoke joints, you`ll find good breakfast spots and wonderful old style Singapore architecture (5 mins taxi). Or wait til 9.30am, pop across rd to Joo Chiat Centre, look for the yellow chairs (near Maybank), get 2 hot boiled eggs, toast and sweet Sing tea for S$2 pp. Unless you want chloresteroll OD, ask for no lard on toast!

Last Tip: Save luggage weight, buy new shoes in Singapore. Good value, especially men`s.

Room Tip: All good but make sure wi-fi connection ok in yours.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank heyexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews