We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Cleanness and presentation are their priority. WiFi works fine in the room. Location is also alright, less than 10min walk to the Paya Lebar train station. Shops are also all around the train station.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank dialronet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 236 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2015

Faithful Travel Buddy and I (me 71, her close behind) lodged here for one week in March, 2015 as part of two months of independent travels in Southeast Asia. We thought the hotel's neighborhood on Joo Chiat road was one of the most fascinating we have ever visited. It's mixture of Malay, Indian, Vietnamese, and Chinese peoples, restaurants, and stores (this seems to be a major shopping area for Singapore's Islamic population) made this area, in our eyes, a worth while tourist destination in its own right. Great food all around. Sunday was particularly interesting; it felt like half of Singapore was shopping in the "hood." Access to the rest of Singapore was easy, about a 10-15 minute walk to the Paya Labar Metro Station (left out the hotel front door, left at the first light, a few blocks down turn right at the Starbuck's). The Singapore metro has to be the most modern and clean in the world, and it did not take much effort to learn how to use the metro and visit every place we wished in the City (two lines cross at Paya Labar; the Circular line is the one most tourists will use for just about every site).

The hotel itself is newly renovated, and like the rest of Singapore efficient and ridiculously clean (disclaimer, New Yorker writing this). Hotel is only 15 minutes or so from the Airport, making for easy and economic taxi rides to and fro. Room size was good, staff professional, bathroom tiny but clean and efficient, AC powerful but under user's control, quiet, elevators speedy, only the Internet was dodgy the week we stayed here -- some days not working at all, so we used the nearby Starbuck's on our way out in the am. No hotel restaurant, but plenty of breakfast options in the shopping center at the Metro station. In sum, this hotel is an excellent value option for independent travelers to wonderful Singapore, who are comfortable using public transportation and would enjoy staying in a unique local neighborhood.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank william2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

This hotel from exterior does not give one a impression that it could be any difference to other budget hotel,i hv walked pass in my trip to sin February but never stop to see it..by chance a good promotion price by Agoda put me in this hotel after two nites in The Venus..big glass door..bright reception desk,a swing chair with some colourful pillows welcome you,though we cld nt get in till 3pm,we were happy to leave the luggages in storages. .3pm..back n keys were done n room 324 a corner room round aft the lift..big spaious room..two tables are welcome, a perankan window that we can open for fresh air though it was air con, the bathroom was a bonus..glass door with another door to shower with strong pressure n of course good space to move around. I am impressed by such big room in a budget area n it is a hidden treasure. .nearby malays community n food stores n bus stop just steps away. ..20 mins walk to paya lebar station csn get you to airport as well.I will ddefinitely come back to stsy in this hotel when back to sin plus the coin operated laundrette is s bonus..

Room Tip: Corner room facing park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mustknow05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Renovated Hotel in good condition. No Breakfast possible but many opportunities arround. 10-15Min walk of MRT Paya Lebara. I was with my wife there and liked the Hotel. The Wi-FI didn't work 50% of the time. But we are not depended on the Internet so it was not a problem. The only thing which disturbed me litte was the short bed. I'm 192cm tall and the hole feet had no space in the bed. We will book it again when we return to SG. Possible to let you baggage even after checkout in a save room.

Room Tip: End of the floor. The doors let pass the noice really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We are a travelling couple, transiting one nite in sinagpore and stayed at Champion Hotel on Jochiaat st, Singapore. Hotel is nicely decored, room is spacious, shower plentiful and basic amenities provided. less than 30min from airport, better option than staying in hotels around the hotel and or sleeping on the airport itself

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank litzie2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $92 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing