We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!!! ”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Excellent service, great room layout, friendly staffs and close at the heart of SG. Will surely come back again sometime soon! This hotel is a hidden gem and was over the top pleased to had found it. Hubby and I had an excellent come back experience in SG after two years. We missed our rat race life here.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 233 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2015

We're looking for a hotel in Joo chiat with a good review and we found this. True enough, we were very much satisfied in our stay here. Small but very clean room. The location is near bus and train station. Too bad they do not offer breakfast. A lot of food hawkers nearby though,

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This hotel is a hidden gem. Found it by accident and I'm so glad! We've stayed here twice and will always be be back.

Positives:
1. Unlike average hotel rooms in Singapore, the rooms (and the bathrooms) here are spacious. And very clean. For the prices offered, it's very affordable.
2. Across the street and around the hotel, you can shop pretty much anything. The Fair Price supermarket sells nice BBQ chickens, organic stuff, it's really nice. A few meters from the hotel, there's a fruit shop. We love buying the fruits there. Nice owners, too.
3. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
4. Free internet.

The only thing I don't like is the location. It's far from the nearest MRT and the bus stop. So we had to take a taxi. But it's REALLY worth it!

Thank you so much, the hotel staff :)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mypreciouskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Cleanness and presentation are their priority. WiFi works fine in the room. Location is also alright, less than 10min walk to the Paya Lebar train station. Shops are also all around the train station.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank dialronet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Faithful Travel Buddy and I (me 71, her close behind) lodged here for one week in March, 2015 as part of two months of independent travels in Southeast Asia. We thought the hotel's neighborhood on Joo Chiat road was one of the most fascinating we have ever visited. It's mixture of Malay, Indian, Vietnamese, and Chinese peoples, restaurants, and stores (this seems to be a major shopping area for Singapore's Islamic population) made this area, in our eyes, a worth while tourist destination in its own right. Great food all around. Sunday was particularly interesting; it felt like half of Singapore was shopping in the "hood." Access to the rest of Singapore was easy, about a 10-15 minute walk to the Paya Labar Metro Station (left out the hotel front door, left at the first light, a few blocks down turn right at the Starbuck's). The Singapore metro has to be the most modern and clean in the world, and it did not take much effort to learn how to use the metro and visit every place we wished in the City (two lines cross at Paya Labar; the Circular line is the one most tourists will use for just about every site).

The hotel itself is newly renovated, and like the rest of Singapore efficient and ridiculously clean (disclaimer, New Yorker writing this). Hotel is only 15 minutes or so from the Airport, making for easy and economic taxi rides to and fro. Room size was good, staff professional, bathroom tiny but clean and efficient, AC powerful but under user's control, quiet, elevators speedy, only the Internet was dodgy the week we stayed here -- some days not working at all, so we used the nearby Starbuck's on our way out in the am. No hotel restaurant, but plenty of breakfast options in the shopping center at the Metro station. In sum, this hotel is an excellent value option for independent travelers to wonderful Singapore, who are comfortable using public transportation and would enjoy staying in a unique local neighborhood.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank william2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing