We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money - Modern and functional rooms”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 24 April 2015

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights in October 2014. The room was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable. Everything looked new. It completely fulfilled my expectations.

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in Singapore in-between destinations this is a great place. It is close to the airport and around 20 to 30 minutes away from the city center by bus.

The neighborhood is not very fancy but there are plenty of good restaurants around 10 minutes by foot away.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frédéric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 231 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2015

In the expensive world of Singapore lodging, this hotel is a great deal. Room was large, clean and comfortable, staff was helpful, and the location puts you both close to the airport (5am taxi ride to Changi was only 17 SGD, even with the 50% surcharge that apply to rides between 12am-6am) as well as easy access to downtown via the nearby Paya Lebar metro station (little over a 10 minute walk). Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank grabowcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Excellent service, great room layout, friendly staffs and close at the heart of SG. Will surely come back again sometime soon! This hotel is a hidden gem and was over the top pleased to had found it. Hubby and I had an excellent come back experience in SG after two years. We missed our rat race life here.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We're looking for a hotel in Joo chiat with a good review and we found this. True enough, we were very much satisfied in our stay here. Small but very clean room. The location is near bus and train station. Too bad they do not offer breakfast. A lot of food hawkers nearby though,

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This hotel is a hidden gem. Found it by accident and I'm so glad! We've stayed here twice and will always be be back.

Positives:
1. Unlike average hotel rooms in Singapore, the rooms (and the bathrooms) here are spacious. And very clean. For the prices offered, it's very affordable.
2. Across the street and around the hotel, you can shop pretty much anything. The Fair Price supermarket sells nice BBQ chickens, organic stuff, it's really nice. A few meters from the hotel, there's a fruit shop. We love buying the fruits there. Nice owners, too.
3. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
4. Free internet.

The only thing I don't like is the location. It's far from the nearest MRT and the bus stop. So we had to take a taxi. But it's REALLY worth it!

Thank you so much, the hotel staff :)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mypreciouskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing