We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Hope to return”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights as part of our holiday/ my birthday visit. Our room was clean, and quiet. We arrived at midnight the first night and we were greeted immediately by a friendly front desk person. On a couple occasions we interacted with the front desk. They were quick and friendly each time. The surrounding area provides a good selection of food stands and markets. We found the MRT station and bus routes easily. It was exactly what we wanted a nice hotel at a good value. You can spend more to get more "luxury" but this place is perfect if you want a nice place to sleep and relax in between adventures into the rest of the city.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 212 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2015

We chose the suite room as it had a lounge area as well and windows and was spacious for a hotel in Singapore. Not located right in the tourist area however the MRT station Paya Lebar is only a 10 minute walk and from there you can go anywhere you wish.
The hotel has been well renovated and the decor is up to date, however there was no compendium in our suite and the TV stations were not working properly even after getting an assurance from Reception that it would be fixed for our return trip 4 days later, it was not!!!
There are many great food halls right around the corner with so much food to chose from and also a supermarket just across the road.
We would definitely stay here again as we loved the location and mixing with the friendly locals and enjoying their culture.

Room Tip: Chose the suite room if you want a window and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heatherj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I spent a day in Champion hotel when passing through Singapore. It was very satisfactory for me and my husband. Unfortunately there was no double bed but I know that on booking so we had twin rooms. There is a large shopping centre near by and a myriad of dining options. The price of the hotel is reasonable as we paid $100 a night. The room is small, but the amenities are compact, although ladies there was no hairdryer! A great surprise was the international adapter available on request.Very good Wi-Fi service free of charge . The MTR is within 15mins walk and a pleasant stroll. If its a shopping fix you need don't stay here but if its a layover the hotel is great.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaFrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Set about 15 minutes by train and a 15 minute walk from the centre of the city this hotel felt more like a glorified backpackers to us. The only bonus was we had our own bathroom and it was reasonably new. The room we booked unbeknown to us (and not specified in the room description we read) did not have a window which made for a rather stuffy room. When we pointed this out to the staff upon checkin we were told we could upgrade to a room with a window at an extra cost. No apology was given for the miscommunication in description. We noted that most other hotels have "no window" specified alongside the title of the room. In addition to this we found the walls quite thin and were disrupted early in the morning by people talking outside our room. Given that this place is quite a distance from the city and the significant cost we probably wouldn't return here again. On the bright side the place was very clean and quite modern so may suit some.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I spent a day and half in Champion hotel when passing through Singapore last week, and I think it was a good option for me. There are the pros and cons of the place:

Pros:
It is in a great location in the middle of a busy commercial area. There are a couple of large shopping centers and tons of dining options. Everything is in walking distance.
The price of the hotel fits in a small budget.
The room is small, but sufficient for one person and many amenities are included in a compact form. Whatever is not there can be had in a jiffy by calling the front desk. They also provide an international adapter on request.
The room is very clean
Service is courteous, friendly and efficient.
Very good Wi-Fi service free of charge

Cons:

The room is a bit too dim even when all the lights are on.
The air condition does not cool the room sufficiently.

All in all, the hotel is a good catch in a pretty expensive city like Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing