We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy Champion Hotel”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 21 July 2015

A boutique hotel along Joo Chiat Road. The room for triple occupancy is surprisingly spacious. The room is well decorated, well lighted and the bed is comfortable. All the basic amenities are provided by the hotel such as coffee and tea making facility, hair dryer, safe, tv, bathroom essentials, clean towels and a shampoo and body wash dispenser ( so you don't need to request for more if it runs out). The rooms are cleaned everyday (request needed) and free bottled water is replenished everyday as well. I love the clean smell of the hotel up to the room and yes, the hotel it self is clean and tidy.

The hotel staffs are accommodating and helpful. No communication barriesr as they speak english well.

Although the hotel doesn't have room service or in-house restaurant, getting food is no problem as there are a lot of restaurants along Joo Chiat Rd. Price Mart Grocery is just across the street for those who need to buy snacks, drinks or other items.

The nearest mrt station is about 10 minutes walk (Paya Lebar) but taxis can be easily reached right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank iAMjadz .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 207 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015

What a great 'little' hotel, in the middle of everything. I emphasise little, as most hotels are little in Singapore. It had everything we needed and some things we didn't. Like a window, which opens, but isn't really necessary, as it is so damn humid in Singapore, you don't want the outside air inside. Nice clean, small bathroom with shower & toilet, shampoo/conditioner and shower foam provided. Coffee & tea making facilities, television (which we didn't watch, but assumed it worked). Free Wifi, complimentary water daily. No restaurant or room service, but the hotel is surrounded by supermarkets, food markets, restaurants, shopping, everything you could possibly need. We loved it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are on the larger side, or very tall, I would recommend a "swing room"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertsonFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This beautiful, new hotel is located in a predominantly middle eastern area of Singapore. The rooms are well sized and has a great bathroom. The room and hotel look very new. The hotel is close to most major attractions but you most certainly need a taxi. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel. The price and room size is probably one of Singapore's best value hotels!
Internet is free and fast!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that doesn't face the main street - people were loud late at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank adf1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Hotel was clean, and alright considered Singapore hotel mostly are expensive , I stayed one night for over night transit, near the airport, around 20$ taxi from airport, if you're going back to hotel it will only cost like 15$ because there's no additional charge. Downside is mrt station quite far, around 1km. It is located near like a night market, so you can see a lot if you want to go shopping, it is near moslem area , so if you're one, it will be easy for you to have moslem food and clothes.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick67891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed at the Champion Hotel on 2 nights. Well placed about 15 minutes from the airport and just off Changi Road.
Our first night on arrival, the aircon was not working so we were upgraded to a king room. Very spacious with a sitting area and large bathroom. The room was on the street side and was noisy - I always carry earplugs so that did the trick.
Our second night we had a queen room which was small but adequate. The door entrance had a weird configuration as to either enter or exit you had to stand in the bathroom to fully open the door. The other disappointing thing was that although the hotel is relatively newly renovated there was a lot of mould in the shower and behind the basin.
There is a great supermarket opposite and a very good bus service into the city on Changi Road. The metro is a fair walk especially when it is 30+ degrees and extremely high humidity.
Overall a good value hotel with very good staff.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Joo Chiat Road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank seekerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing