We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel close to the airport”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We chose Champion Hotel as we were were in transit between Africa and New Zealand and wanted accommodation in close taxi distance from Changi Airport. The Champion Hotel proved to be exactly what we needed. It is modern, clean and attractive. It is well lit and nicely decorated from the lobby to the rooms. Staff were attentive and pleasant and went out of their way to get us into our room two hours before check-in time after a long and tiring flight. There were taxi's on the doorstep when we needed one at 6am the next morning and staff on hand to help us get to it. The rooms are lovely. They are uniquely furnished and have all amenities. The bathrooms are clean and modern and the shower in the room we had had hot high pressure water to die for in our exhausted state. Air conditioning worked perfectly for the temperature. There is nothing we could say that might be the least bit critical with the possible exception of the view from the window, which was sort of suburban. The price was more than reasonable for the quality of the hotel. Some travellers may be put off by the location but it suited us well as we enjoy busy ethnic environments and the range of restaurants, shops and nightlight they provide. Champion Hotel appears to be in a distinctly Malay/Indian area of town and there is a very strong Muslim presence which is reflecgted in shops and eating places. However Joo Chiat Road, in which it is situated is a great walk in the early evening, and the selection of restaurants, particularly as you walk further down the road is very varied and ranges from Asian street stalls with very tasty food, some very good Chinese restaurants and even a little enclave of European food places. We were delighted to find some little stores selling some delectable after dinner sweet deserts which we talk back to the hotel. Being a Muslim area there did not seem to be a lot of liquor on sale, however the is one big liquor store to the South of the hotel on the same side, and the 7-11 and other grocery stores of a supply of beer and some wine. Champion Hotel is warmly recommended, and we suggest you treat the location as an experience rather than a reason not to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 201 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2015

Affordable and conveniently located around food places in Joo Chiat. They do not serve breakfast though. Compared to other 2-3 star hotels in Singapore, Champion hotel's rooms are more spacious. The bed is okay and the rooms are clean as well as the bathroom. Location is not very near town but if you don't mind walking, you can get to Marine Parade mall or One KM mall. You will need to walk 10-20 mins to get to the nearest MRT station.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pattylikearockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

This hotel offered the best value for your money. We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and have the room near elevator. So we can reach bed faster after a long walk in the downton. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I asked information about rental car and they give me very useful information. Unfortunately, if you book a taxi from receptionist, it could take a while. So, it's better to find one yourself outside of hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the room near elevator so you don't have to walk longer after long day outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miftah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We have stayed at the champion hotel for 2 nights with our family. The hotel has a relatively good location in a quit area (about 10 to 15 mins walk from the Paya Lebar MRT station).
It is modern, very clean and comfortable. The shower was the best we had from the 8 hotels we have visited during our roundtrip.
Minus: no breakfast in the hotel. If you like Asian breakfast there are enough options nearby but if you are looking for western style breakfast you will have to walk to the MRT station. Would stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chris324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a stopover to Australia. We had travelled overnight from London so was very tired. They allowed us to check in 6 hours earlier for a discounted early check in price. The room was lovely exceptionally clean with a small fridge. Toiletries provided and bottles of water in your room. As other reviews say a little out of town but so easy to get in by train or bus. Taxi in to town was only $15. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Tenglish90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing