We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular for Good Reason”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We stayed for 1 "night" from the morning to 9.30pm after disembarking from a cruise and before catching a flight. The location is a bit of a walk from the MRT station but easily accessible by taxi. The foyer is pleasant and gives a calming effect. The staff were polite and took our luggage into secure storage as we used the free wifi. We had declined the offer to pay extra for early access (normally 2pm) and after spending almost an hour catching up on emails etc. they kindly gave us a room. we were most grateful. Sure it was on the road where traffic noise was heard but at least it was spacious, very clean, lots of TV channels (including english), a great shower and comfortable bed, easy to use lighting system and air conditioning that was adjustable AND worked. Taxis frequent the street at all hours and we got one within the minute for our 20 minute (S$16) trip to Changi airport.
On a future visit we would request a quiet room. It is easy to see why the hotel gets a high rating.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

About half way between the airport and Down town Singapore. Singapore hotels are insanely expensive and thus is a great budget hotel. A variety of rooms to suit all budgets. I stayed in the smallest which at 13sq metres is actually surprising spacious and oh so cute. No windows which when you are trying to sleep is actually a bonus!!

The area is surrounded by genuine 'real Singapore' restaurants, shop and karaoke bars. 30 minutes walk to a bigger mall.

$20 from airport via taxi and $15 to the city or $2 on the MRT which is a 5 minute walk away.

A little noisy at night mainly from the closing of the heavy doors to the rooms but I always have earplugs on me so slept through.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Himmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Rooms are clean maintained and suffice for a couple stay.
Clean neat bathrooms.
Digitally locked safe closet to keep valuables.
We can not get a clear view outside window. All you can see is the apartment's another wall. So dont opt for a window room if you are expecting a view out of window. (There are extra charges for window room)
You get singapore attractions info brochures at the reception.
You get internet facility at reception free of cost and wifi in the room.
There is a small fridge which may remain unnoticed if you dont take efforts to find it.
Considering whole busy day in singapore attractions, it is good hotel for cozy night stay.
Location of hotel is good. Not crowdy. Taxi stand in front of hotel. Bus station on 3-4 minutes walk.
Metro station is 20 minutes walk. So we used to prefer bus to reach metro station.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udaysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Hotel was very clean and the room contained all the basic amenities required. Bed was very comfortable. The three person room does not contain a window, but this was known before I made the booking and was perfectly fine.

The closest MRT station was around 10-15 minutes by walk. Several convenience shops can be found nearby the hotel or the MRT station, which offer several options for breakfast. Also not very far away from the airport (around 20 min by taxi).

Definitely recommend it, since all major attractions can be reached by MRT.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livermagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Champion Hotel in Joo Chiat Road was my choice for my last night in Singapore as I had to be at the airport early.

The location is about 10mins walk from the MRT (Paya Lebar) and a 20 minute SGD18 taxi trip to the airport.

The room was clean & the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly & very willing to help.

If you are on a budget & need a clean safe overnight conveniently close to the airport, I'd suggest Champion.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank BrianInAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing