We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The Champion Hotel was a great finding. The room was small, but had its own shower. The room was very clean and nice looking. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Train station was a bit of walk, but safe.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank viajanteitinerario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 151 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

For the second time this month I spent two nights in Champion Hotel, Singapore. With prices going nuts in Singapore these days, I was very pleased to stumble on to this small hotel in Kampung Malay. The street is full of Muslim shops and Chinese restaurants. Further up the street in direction of East Road there are even a few great Vietnamese restaurants. Everything is affordable. The hotel is near the Paya Lebar tube station. You can be downtown in under 30 min. The hotel is friendly, modern, very clean, and outstanding value for money. I will return for a third time end of March.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I had a short (about 12 hour) layover in Singapore between flights, and since there didn't seem to be any reasonable options out by the airport, I booked here. Overall, it was actually better than I expected. The room was very clean, staff were friendly and accommodating, and the price (just under USD $70) was about as cheap as you'll find in Singapore. The room had no windows, but given how short my stay was, I didn't really care. It was a nice place to sleep. However I'm not sure I'd want to spend a week here, and for a long stay I'd probably pay a bit more for a more comfortable room. I'd stay here again though.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyinFoodieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Quick check in, front desk efficient but not overly friendly, housekeeping good.
Close to airport
15 min walk to Joo Chiat Complex.
Lots of cheap Asian food available, Western options more sparse esp breakfast ( not open till 10am)
a/c difficult to adjust, bed 6ft only - don't be taller but firm, more TV channels needed
Probably 3 days is maximum - if stopover = perfect

Room Tip: Basic room for a basic price - good value for Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Very well renovated, modern touches, clean and spacious by Singapore standards. Convenient location to local cuisine in Rococo-style shop houses, the old world charm of Joo Chiat area and the Malay/Muslim experience of Geylang. Walk to nearest metro station at Paya Lebar MRT is 10 minutes which connects to the rest of Singapore. Good wifi service.

Room Tip: Value for money for a 20 sq m room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing