We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEANLINESS & LOCATION”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I stayed four nights at this hotel on 18 July. This was my first time staying in this area. The location is good, many eating places and shops nearby plus a shop selling a variety of fruits. Taxi is easily available. The room I stayed in on the fourth floor is clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely will come again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel with minimalist design.friendly staff.from the nearest mrt station we have to walk around 15 minutes. Unfortunately,room charge not incl breakfast.there so many local food around the hotel. overall everything was good.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Wuwuls D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated in Geylang a residential neighborhood, there are plenty of local shops, cafes, restaurants near by as well as a shopping mall which is great. There's a supermarket in Tanjong Katong Complex which is about 8 minutes walk. The closest MRT station is Paya Lebar (on the green/yellow line) is approx 12 minutes walk.
The room might be a bit small for some but we were out most of the day so it doesn't really matter but the bathroom was small so if you are slightly larger than average you might struggle to get in and out.
My only problem with this hotel is that you can hear when next door is having a shower which could be noisy if you are in bed early.
Overall the hotel is cheap and cheerful as well as clean, so if you are on a budget this is the place to be.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mocha_BoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We recently spent 6 nights at this hotel, it has a great location, close to some excellent shopping and food outlets. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Check in and checkout were fast and efficient. It is close to MRT and bus transport although taxis and Uber are cheap in Singapore if you need to travel away from the area. The hotel also has washing facilities.
The room we had was not large but it was adequate because we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. we had no issues with out side noises.
The only thing that would stop us from returning to this hotel was the quality of sleep, we found the bed very uncomfortable and lacked a good nights sleep. Maybe next time we will try the tatami room. The hotel prices out way any negatives, great value for money in Singapore.

Room Tip: A window room upgrade is probably not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slyunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

After reading dozens of reviews we chose the Champion hotel for price and their good reviews. The hotel is about 12 minutes walk from the rail station, and once aboard only 10-12 minutes to town, great rail system once you get used to it, completely automated and spotless. Any amount of eateries very close, no dining at the hotel, always easy to get a meal somewhere. The staff were very helpful and considerate, even after we had turned the hot water off by mistake. (In with all the light switches is one marked heater that can be turned off if you are not careful).
The room was an excellent size, and everything worked as it should, lovely shower and toilet facilities, and the room kept very clean, we stayed for 5-6 days.
The only down side was our room window faced down on to and eatery that was open until late, no undue noise, but plenty of bike traffic, and chatter, and then opening up again about 7am was noisy, ( steel shutters ). The staff offered us another room, but is was smaller, so we settled for the noise which we got used to after the first two nights.
Singpore is very expensive for accommodation, but we found this hotel to be value for money. All in all a good stay, clean, and lovely staff, as for the noise, it is high density Singpore, so it is the same almost everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing