We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms for a small buck”
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champion Hotel
Ranked #104 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Although the neighborhood might come over as intimidating, the hotel itself is amazing. I got a 20m2 room with a rather large bathroom and shower. Prices for the rooms are low (check booking dot com for regular promotions). Rooms are clean, front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The easiest way to arrive to this place by SMRT is to get out at the interchange stop of MTRs green and yellow (it will make sense if you check the map). Overall, a pleasant hotel with a pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Room 407 has A/C units next to them. However, they did not bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chief_Adu261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed for late night/ early morning arrival for our next flight out in 6 hours. Hotel is small but very clean fairly close to airport but further than it looks on map. Ok for our stay except couldn't get much sleep, beds are rock hard and you can hear the traffic outside. Overall ok

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

If you want to save some money during your Singapore visit and yet want to stay in a hygienic place, then its the best place. Only drawback is its bit far from central Singapore area. End of the day you need a good night rest and you will get it here.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Pritiprabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Due to a typhoon hammering it's way through the northern Philippines, our flight scheduled for Singapore was cancelled. I called the front desk and explained my situation. I have two family suites reserved for 4 days.

The hotel was kind enough and allowed me to cancel my reservation without penalties. I received a cancellation within the hour via Booking.com. Thank you Champion Hotel! I will surely rebook as soon as I get my confirmation from the airline.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Raffy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Good location in Geylang area in one of the few remaining traditional housing neighbourhoods. The room was clean and comfortable. No window but fine for one night. It was also good value for money for Singapore and I think I got a particularly good deal through Agoda. Staff helpful and prompt.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank russell_denisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Hotel YAN
#51 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 319 in Singapore
366 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#131 of 319 in Singapore
295 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing