We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some films are not worth watching” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore

Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore
Ranked #237 of 798 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Science center with domed planetarium and OmniMax projection theater for films and programs on astronomy, oceanography, meterology and aeronautics.
Wrexham, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Some films are not worth watching”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2016

I’ve often watched brilliant Imax films here and really enjoyed them. Now they’ve stopped showing Imax films, and the new films are very disappointing.
Because we’ve always enjoyed the films, we bought tickets for ‘Earth Moon and Sun’ without checking the film properly. Big mistake. Yes the picture definition was excellent, but the film was aimed at children of 10 or less. Most of it was a cartoon. It was all about American legends, not Asian. Also it showed star pictures which assumed you were viewing in the temperate zone, not the tropics. It was very different from the great films I’ve enjoyed here.
Obviously, we didn’t try watching anything else, but the only other film that day was again not an Imax documentary. Again I suspect it would have been well below the standards I expect. It’s possible the planetarium talks are better, but we didn’t have the opportunity to watch one.
Practical points: you enter at the bottom and exit near the top, so you’re always ascending the steps, much safer than deccending. There is a lift for those who find stairs difficult. However unless you request seats (all seats are assigned in advance) which can be reached without climbing any stairs, you’re likely to still have to climb a few steps. Clean toilets are available nearby.
So if you see they are showing Imax films again, you’ll have a great time. Otherwise, be very cautious, you may just be wasting money and your valuable time. Don’t make our mistake and book without checking who made the film.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatSeekerWrexham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great movie experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2015

Its a great experience to watch the wild life movies at the Omni theatre. We went there with our kids and they were really awed to see the movie on the Great White shark. I too was wonderstruck at the amazing enormity of the images at the Omni theatre. There are a few shows to choose from and we visited took the single ticket to Science Centre, Snow city and Omni Theatre. All in all, a wonderful experience, not worth missing.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sriram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
263 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Member”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I was a member of the Omni-max theater when my kids were like 7-14. We would watch every movie that came, some were of course better than other so there is no need for me to comment on any movie since you will be seeing a different show. The theater underwent a major renovation several years back. The beat position is about 3/4 way up and near the centre.

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice scientific approach for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Very nice centre with themed areas for kids or adults to discover science through a less academic approach. Been there with 5yrs and 2yrs kids : not appropriate though for this age range. As from 7yrs would be ideal. When ending, cross the road to opposite mall to be sure catch a taxi or bus.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Ben Javed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“3D movie experience, thumbs up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

We watched a digital movie, Back to the Moon for Good during the SG50 period.

It was exceptional. Even better than we expected. Even though my kids didn't understand part of it, the 3D experience was so real that we felt as if we were floating in a space craft on the moon and spinning around the earth.
When we got out of the theatre, we were very dizzy.

The introduction before the movie by the facilitator was so interesting with 3D visuals.

Strongly recommended for families. However, if you are a victim of dizziness and cannot take it, don't go for it. You will not regret buying the tickets even though it seems expensive. "Back to the Moon for Good" might be a good choice that is worth the money as the floating, spinning and flying effect is worth the feel!

Digital movies would be better than IMAX in my opinion.

An exceptional 3D experience in the Omni-Theatre!

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannahsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore also viewed

 

Been to Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing