We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore
Ranked #269 of 821 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Science center with domed planetarium and OmniMax projection theater for films and programs on astronomy, oceanography, meterology and aeronautics.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Well its kinda disappointing to me. I had not been here for more than a decade and yet there are not much changes and improvement. Watch a cartoonish narrated by a coyote about the Sun, Moon and Earth and feel that its a waste of time. The management should spruced up place a bit to be on par with IMAX and Omni Theatres in neighboring countries like Bangkok or even Jakarta.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Zenraigunnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Some films are not worth watching”
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I’ve often watched brilliant Imax films here and really enjoyed them. Now they’ve stopped showing Imax films, and the new films are very disappointing.
Because we’ve always enjoyed the films, we bought tickets for ‘Earth Moon and Sun’ without checking the film properly. Big mistake. Yes the picture definition was excellent, but the film was aimed at children of 10 or less. Most of it was a cartoon. It was all about American legends, not Asian. Also it showed star pictures which assumed you were viewing in the temperate zone, not the tropics. It was very different from the great films I’ve enjoyed here.
Obviously, we didn’t try watching anything else, but the only other film that day was again not an Imax documentary. Again I suspect it would have been well below the standards I expect. It’s possible the planetarium talks are better, but we didn’t have the opportunity to watch one.
Practical points: you enter at the bottom and exit near the top, so you’re always ascending the steps, much safer than deccending. There is a lift for those who find stairs difficult. However unless you request seats (all seats are assigned in advance) which can be reached without climbing any stairs, you’re likely to still have to climb a few steps. Clean toilets are available nearby.
So if you see they are showing Imax films again, you’ll have a great time. Otherwise, be very cautious, you may just be wasting money and your valuable time. Don’t make our mistake and book without checking who made the film.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatSeekerWrexham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great movie experience”
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Its a great experience to watch the wild life movies at the Omni theatre. We went there with our kids and they were really awed to see the movie on the Great White shark. I too was wonderstruck at the amazing enormity of the images at the Omni theatre. There are a few shows to choose from and we visited took the single ticket to Science Centre, Snow city and Omni Theatre. All in all, a wonderful experience, not worth missing.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sriram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Member”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I was a member of the Omni-max theater when my kids were like 7-14. We would watch every movie that came, some were of course better than other so there is no need for me to comment on any movie since you will be seeing a different show. The theater underwent a major renovation several years back. The beat position is about 3/4 way up and near the centre.

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice scientific approach for kids”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Very nice centre with themed areas for kids or adults to discover science through a less academic approach. Been there with 5yrs and 2yrs kids : not appropriate though for this age range. As from 7yrs would be ideal. When ending, cross the road to opposite mall to be sure catch a taxi or bus.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Ben Javed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore also viewed

 

Been to Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing