We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience - well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore

Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore
Ranked #238 of 796 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Science center with domed planetarium and OmniMax projection theater for films and programs on astronomy, oceanography, meterology and aeronautics.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unique experience - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

We went to the Omni Theatre at the Science Centre, I had been to two others over the years but this my partners first time. The theatre is part of the Science Centre in Juring East, we caught the subway (MRT) and walked the rest of the way although you could catch the bus (no 66) and stop outside the Snow building. The Dome and vision is much better than in the past as there are no lines on the dome and you get a clean image of the image which surrounds you as you almost lay in a chair facing upwards to the screen. As the seating is on an almost 45 degree angle there is a climb to your seats, try getting into the centre for the best view. Well worth a visit to experience this unique type of film and the vision.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016

We did not know what to expect when we visited as part of an overall visit to the Science Centre, to which it is attached. Was blown away. The theatre consists of a huge wrap around screen, and the seating is slightly laid back. When the film starts you feel as though you are right in the middle of it. I only bought a ticket to the last shown of the day. If I am honest, in hindsight I would have preferred to skip the Science Centre proper and gone also to the previous film as well, as they were showing two different films. I would happily recommend for you to go the the Omni-theatre. Buy tickets for both the two different films, and just skip the Science Centre altogether.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank cantato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Should visit, if you are visiting Science Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016

The OMNI theater is good experience. You should not miss if you are visiting Science center. The tickets are included with the science center ticket. You can choose which show to watch while getting the tickets. Ask for the shows that are currently available and choose as your choice.

The theater is near Science center and can be accessed by SMRT (Jurong East station) or by bus.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank sudipta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real life like movie experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2016

Omni Theater in Science Centre gives you an out of this world experience. You feel like being a part of the movie.
Must visit if you happen to visit Singapore Science Center. Check out the show timings before going there . Duration of the movie is around 40 minutes.
Get down at Juring East MRT Station and take a bus from the interchange which is located just outside the MRT station. Science centre is just 2 stops away from there.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank sachinthakur777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational tour for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Located next to Science Centre near Jurong East. Ample car park... Got restaurants and MacDonald.

Omni Theatre offered a range movie which are very educational for kids, teenagers and even adults. Suggest you check online for the show before going because the shows will be repeated over a couple of months. Usually 2 shows to rotate a few timing in a day. It is 3-D show... Take the back row so that you need not turn your neck too much... The screen will be above your head if you are sitting in front... After the show, your head will be spinning... Haha

Drawback? Hmm... No Chinese subtitles...

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tongzi5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore also viewed

 

Been to Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing