We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore

Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore
Ranked #238 of 796 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Science center with domed planetarium and OmniMax projection theater for films and programs on astronomy, oceanography, meterology and aeronautics.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Requested to watch one show but was sold a ticket for another. My mistake for not checking the ticket when bought but was rushing for the Tesla Coil show at the Science Centre.

The movies were not as spellbounding as before. Lots of CGIs which make it look like a morning cartoon TV programme. I remembered when I was younger, the Omni theatre showed a movie on outer space, black holes, quarks...now that would amaze anyone - adult or kids! I would suggest to bring that back!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Terrence_Soong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fascinating viewing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016

The Omni-Theatre is an unique experience as it provides really wide screen (not just left and right, but also above your head) to provide images to your peripheral visions. So, it does feel that you are almost there in the movie, similar concept to IMAX.

We watched the movie about the Dinosaurs, quite interesting and educational. However, would prefer the movie to last a little longer.

Best seating for Omni-Theatre: middle top part of the hall, in the section with lesser seat count.
Purchasing Omni-Theatre and KidStop as a package saves $2 pp. Go during off-peak period where are savings to the admission charges. Off-peak is weekdays outside school holidays.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank BienameY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unique experience - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

We went to the Omni Theatre at the Science Centre, I had been to two others over the years but this my partners first time. The theatre is part of the Science Centre in Juring East, we caught the subway (MRT) and walked the rest of the way although you could catch the bus (no 66) and stop outside the Snow building. The Dome and vision is much better than in the past as there are no lines on the dome and you get a clean image of the image which surrounds you as you almost lay in a chair facing upwards to the screen. As the seating is on an almost 45 degree angle there is a climb to your seats, try getting into the centre for the best view. Well worth a visit to experience this unique type of film and the vision.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016

We did not know what to expect when we visited as part of an overall visit to the Science Centre, to which it is attached. Was blown away. The theatre consists of a huge wrap around screen, and the seating is slightly laid back. When the film starts you feel as though you are right in the middle of it. I only bought a ticket to the last shown of the day. If I am honest, in hindsight I would have preferred to skip the Science Centre proper and gone also to the previous film as well, as they were showing two different films. I would happily recommend for you to go the the Omni-theatre. Buy tickets for both the two different films, and just skip the Science Centre altogether.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank cantato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Should visit, if you are visiting Science Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016

The OMNI theater is good experience. You should not miss if you are visiting Science center. The tickets are included with the science center ticket. You can choose which show to watch while getting the tickets. Ask for the shows that are currently available and choose as your choice.

The theater is near Science center and can be accessed by SMRT (Jurong East station) or by bus.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank sudipta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore also viewed

 

Been to Omni-Theatre by Science Centre Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing