We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
27
86
76
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
86
76
32
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is clean, friendly staff, but our room was so small and without windows that you could not move in it. WiFi worked well. The breakfast does not deserve the name. If you do not want a sweet pastry, there's only coffee, hard-boiled eggs and toast with butter. We have taken demonstrative cheese from the supermarket for breakfast.

Room tip: Just around the corner, there are 5-6 small restaurants with cuisines from various countries.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitsch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your feedback. Sometimes Santa Grand offers good discount rate via internet booking.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you're looking for a cheap hotel near NUs which is perfectly no-nonsense yet provides very efficient service, I'd recommend Santa Grand, it is just off clementi road and has a good number of cheap restaurants next to it offering a variety of cuisines. The bus stop is just a stone throws away and Clementi, the nearest MRt station is a very convenient Bus No. 183 away!
The rooms are clean and well equipped, though not the most spacious. There is a very simple yet good free breakfast also available. The service is friendly too.
My only complaint is the lack of toiletries, there is no soap or shampoo- just 4 bottles of something whih is a 'hand AND body wash'!

Room tip: Do remember to ask for a room with a window or you'll get a room with curtains that you pull open with the anticipation of a window onto the street and face a solid wall!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasmine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your feedback about the toiletries, we will make the improvements on toiletries soon. We shall continue to strive for better customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at the Santa Grand when visiting the National University of Singapore during January 2012 - across Chinese New Year.

Reading some of the reviews on here, I feared the worse, but I didn't think it bad at all. In Europe it would easily pass as a 3* hotel. It wasn't cheap - $143++ per night normally, with a $20 or so surcharge for Chinese New Year, and I haven't really compared it for value for money with other places.

The good:

* the place is very clean, and my room was well-serviced each day
* the room was well-appointed, with most of the amenities you'd expect in a 4* hotel
* free wi-fi, worked well
* good bus service right outside the door, if you want the bus - 5 mins journey to the MRT
* 24-hour reception desk (I think)
* good-sized 7-11 nearby (not the tiny one right outside; go around the corner), and some local restauants, if that's your style (not mine).

Neutral:
* the hotel is well-located for NUS, or presumably for other West Coast business places; otherwise rather out of the way
* breakfast was just about adequate
* the room wasn't large, but I've stayed in smaller places

Bad:
* there was a certain 'cheap' feel about the check in/out process (only condescendingly not charging for early check-in, suggesting I leave the card-key at reception when going out, to avoid a $30 lost card charge, having the maid check the room before I could check out?!)
* noisy fridge in my room
* 'wet room' bathroom - difficult to avoid wet feet after shower; drain gurgled constantly (tip: put two towels over it to muffle the sound)

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2012

If you want to stay in a 1 star hotel but pay 4 star prices, then this hotel is for you

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FriendlyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 4 nights. The first night we stayed there we were in a very small room. On our return the room was a little bigger and that was better. It had a small table and little stool, TV, and small fridge, kettle, hair drier. We stayed in room 205 - which is on a corner. It is a very handy hotel to the University. To get to the city you have to catch a bus to get to the MRT train/tube station. Buses go all the time from right out of the front of the hotel and the tubes/trains go every 3 mins. Its an excellent transport system. The hotel is very clean and the room is made up every day. The rooms have lots of TV stations and a little fridge and two free water bottles every day! The breakfast is pretty limited to boiled eggs and toast, oranges or apples, average coffee, and sweet bread/buns. The hotel is quiet and the beds quite hard but we slept well every night. Good aircon too!

Room tip: go for a corner room if you can they tend to be bigger.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koalakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews