We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$97
View deal
Hotels.com
US$97
View deal
Agoda.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Booking.comUS$101
Trip.comUS$106
Destinia.comUS$112
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
27
86
76
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
86
76
32
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The front desk is cheerful, but pretty lousy at doing their job. For instance, we checked out of the hotel in the morning and asked them to book us a big cab or van to take a lot of bags to the airport that evening. When we came back, the guy had not booked the van, instead said that he wanted to ask me which of 2 cab companies he should use - something he could have asked me in the morning, saving me the heart attack!! When I told him "I don't know, choose any one that arrives here faster now, because we need to catch a flight", he started the booking process and finally succeeded 45 minutes after the time I was expecting the cab to be there! They were also pretty bad at recommending bus routes during our stay. They used an iPad app that was buggy and slow. We found it much faster to just look up the directions on Google Maps on our iPhone. Thankfully, they have good WiFi.

The hotel is too expensive for the tiny room you will get. We could barely fit 2 large suitcases in a deluxe room and had to keep the other 2 in storage. There is also construction going on on the hotel facade so we got to hear heavy drilling and people walking on scaffolding right outside our room till 6 pm.

The breakfast is very simple toast, boiled eggs, cereal and coffee but at least everything is fresh. The place is clean, and the WiFi is good and free. There are also a few good eating places around, but avoid the Indian/ halal place whose food is an abomination on humanity!

Room tip: Only consider this hotel if you really need to live 5 mins away from NUS. There is construction going on here till mid-September.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoarWaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback as we take our guest’s feedback seriously. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the renovation work to improve the hotel. As regard of the taxi booking, we have reviewed the offers from the cab companies and are in a good position to recommend a suitable taxi for our guests ensuring that service standards are met.

Thank you again for your feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Think twice before choosing this hotel because there is no MRT station within walking distance. The nearest station is Haw Par Villa that is situated 1.7km away and the only way for you to move from here is either by taxi or bus.

The room is small without any windows. The breakfast is so limited with choices. They only provide you with bread, cereal, oranges, apple and hard boiled eggs. Some bread came with plastic wrapper as if they just bought it from the nearest 7-11.

The room service is even worst. I came back at 5pm to find my room not being clean. By 5.30pm they came knocking at my door while I'm ready for a rest after work.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay.

Santa Grand Hotel West Coast caters mostly to corporate clients with offices located in the western part of Singapore. Whilst the location of Santa Grand Hotel West Coast may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

For breakfast, we offer continental breakfast and we are sorry to hear that we did not have something to your liking and will improve on meeting a more varied needs of guests. As regards our housekeeping standards, we have addressed the temporary problem of a shortage of staff during your stay. Your feedback has been raised up and attracted our management's attention.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is clean, friendly staff, but our room was so small and without windows that you could not move in it. WiFi worked well. The breakfast does not deserve the name. If you do not want a sweet pastry, there's only coffee, hard-boiled eggs and toast with butter. We have taken demonstrative cheese from the supermarket for breakfast.

Room tip: Just around the corner, there are 5-6 small restaurants with cuisines from various countries.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitsch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your feedback. Sometimes Santa Grand offers good discount rate via internet booking.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you're looking for a cheap hotel near NUs which is perfectly no-nonsense yet provides very efficient service, I'd recommend Santa Grand, it is just off clementi road and has a good number of cheap restaurants next to it offering a variety of cuisines. The bus stop is just a stone throws away and Clementi, the nearest MRt station is a very convenient Bus No. 183 away!
The rooms are clean and well equipped, though not the most spacious. There is a very simple yet good free breakfast also available. The service is friendly too.
My only complaint is the lack of toiletries, there is no soap or shampoo- just 4 bottles of something whih is a 'hand AND body wash'!

Room tip: Do remember to ask for a room with a window or you'll get a room with curtains that you pull open with the anticipation of a window onto the street and face a solid wall!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasmine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your feedback about the toiletries, we will make the improvements on toiletries soon. We shall continue to strive for better customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at the Santa Grand when visiting the National University of Singapore during January 2012 - across Chinese New Year.

Reading some of the reviews on here, I feared the worse, but I didn't think it bad at all. In Europe it would easily pass as a 3* hotel. It wasn't cheap - $143++ per night normally, with a $20 or so surcharge for Chinese New Year, and I haven't really compared it for value for money with other places.

The good:

* the place is very clean, and my room was well-serviced each day
* the room was well-appointed, with most of the amenities you'd expect in a 4* hotel
* free wi-fi, worked well
* good bus service right outside the door, if you want the bus - 5 mins journey to the MRT
* 24-hour reception desk (I think)
* good-sized 7-11 nearby (not the tiny one right outside; go around the corner), and some local restauants, if that's your style (not mine).

Neutral:
* the hotel is well-located for NUS, or presumably for other West Coast business places; otherwise rather out of the way
* breakfast was just about adequate
* the room wasn't large, but I've stayed in smaller places

Bad:
* there was a certain 'cheap' feel about the check in/out process (only condescendingly not charging for early check-in, suggesting I leave the card-key at reception when going out, to avoid a $30 lost card charge, having the maid check the room before I could check out?!)
* noisy fridge in my room
* 'wet room' bathroom - difficult to avoid wet feet after shower; drain gurgled constantly (tip: put two towels over it to muffle the sound)

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews