We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$78
View deal
Booking.com
US$86
View deal
Hotels.com
US$78
View deal
PricelineUS$92
Trip.comUS$85
eDreamsUS$86
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
27
86
76
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
86
76
32
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Hi. I just checked out from this hotel and would like to write a few recent details about it. I have a few complains.
1. The heater didn't work properly. I had to wait for about 30 minutes after turning on the switch which is located in the bedroom. Moreover, you have about 10 minutes to finish your shower. After that the water heater becomes off and you have to get off, otherwise you will catch a cold.
2. The conditioner blows strait to the bed. I caught a cold while sleeping. That's not comfortable.
3. The area is very small but as I understood, it is typical for all the buildings. Just no place to put your legs. Stuffed area.
4. The hotel is still under construction. If you want to sleep till 9 or 10 o'clock after a busy day of sightseeing, you will probably be disappointed.

Now advantages. Price is not so high. It is nearby the university and there are a few cheap but good eating places nearby the hotel. Also the bus station is within a walking distance. The room is clean.

Thanks.

Room tip: I was staying at 503, choose that one. Also, it is now so noisy. I didn't see other rooms but some people say that there are rooms with no window.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel West Coast is easily accessible with the public transport, hospitals, and universities just a stone throw away. It is a perfect hotel for the business travellers or universities visitors and we are glad to know that you liked the hotel location.

We appreciate your feedback about the heater which we have since rectified and made improvement. For the renovation work, we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the renovation work to improve the hotel. However, the upgrading work have now been completed and no further works are being carried out.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

though small, the amenities are relavant for business travellers. wifi, breakfast included in the room rate is better than hotels in the vicinity.
location is strategic if you have business on the west side of singapore. good even for vacation with kids since you can have bus rides from the bus stops in front of the hotel.
round the corner you have a row of shophouse which meets your needs, massage, pet shop, laundry, eateries and a 24 hour store.
be careful though, the hotel may be fully booked due to regular guests and corporate clients.

Room tip: Different rates for room with window (locked and cannot be opened) and rooms without window.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank your for your great review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel West Coast is easily accessible with the bus stations, hospitals, and universities just a stone throw away. It is a perfect hotel for the business travellers or universities visitors. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have other Santa Grand Hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed in the deluxe room. Room was clean with amenities which are normally not present in budget hotel rooms i.e. kettle, iron & ironing board, fridge (and a window overlooking the street). Staff are polite and always smiling. Room rate was SGD130/night inclusive of breakfast and FREE wifi. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. There are at least 3 halal food joints and two 7-11s in the adjacent shoplots. Very near to National University Singapore (NUS), therefore perfect for university visitors.

On the downside, the room was VERY small. Despite them publishing it was suitable for 3 adults, it should not room any more than 2. Be wary if you are bringing large luggage as there will not be enough space to move around. Another issue I had was with the hot water temperature. The water pressure was consistent but the water temperature keeps varying from being too hot to too cold. Since our room overlooked the street, we found that the traffic noise was a bit too loud especially at night.

The hotel is still under renovation until end of September 2012. After that, I believe the hotel would be ever more pleasant to stay in.

Room tip: 1. Higher floors to damp the street noise 2. Larger room if you have big luggage
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank your for your compliment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel West Coast is a perfect hotel for university visitor, it caters mostly to corporate guests and visitors to the universities and hospital located in the western part of Singapore.

A regards of the water tempearature in the bathroom, we have taken your feedback and made improvements. We are sorry to hear about the traffic noise troubled you during your stay, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Called to enquiry the online booking. The service staffs talked to me in very rude manner. End up I didn't book. The first lady asked me loudly which hotel I refered to since they have 8 hotels in Singapore. It sounds like she got impatient with me and was scolding me.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
4  Thank XH X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to have lost the opportunity to serve you due to our poor service over the phone. We take this matter very seriously and have since counselled our service staff. For your information, you can also made reservation through Santa Grand hotels website or contact our central reservation at +65 6298 8889 or email to reservation@santa.com.sg.

Once again, thank you for your review and it is through such feedback that we can continue to improve ourselves. We hope to have a chance to host you soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Check in Santa hotel on 23/08/12, staff didn't mentioned that the room window was shut and curtain also not able to open with only 1 small yellow light in the room. When step in the room, it is actually not comfortable and safe for me to stay alone at this type of room. With immediatelly told the counter to cancel it, however they refuse. I step out hotel without using it and look for other hotel, finally get the cheaper hotel with nice and comfortable room. Went back to your hotel to return key at mid night and make a complaint to night shift staff, he promise that the manager will call back to me the next day morning. However no response at all. Is this your hotel attitute to treat the customer like that?? I am paying S$200 for nothing, when i pay S$200 i am expecting that is should be better room as it is expensive compared with other budget hotel in Singapore.

I had call back hotel on 24/08/12, staff told me that the complaint pass to management, the result keep telling me no refund.

Please be aware business doing not only for profit, it include social responsibility to all your stakeholder in order to be success. Please solve this problem in proper way.

Hope hear from you soon.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ooicheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation.

For the safety of guests, hotel room window is normally locked, besides there is renovation works in progress on the outside of the building. Whilst our front desk manager does not have the authority to offer a full refund, she has referred the case to the management team, who has since tried to contact the guest to offer some form of rebate, but to no avail. Since confirmed booking is not refundable according to our policy, our practice is to allow the guests to inspect the room before booking.

We feel that there was a miscommunication and apology for any inconvenience caused. Thank you again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with us and hope to hear back from you soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews