We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse
Ranked #156 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived we were put in a room overlooking the main road. The windows in the room couldn't be closed properly so we could hear all the noise from the road outside, so much so that ear plugs wouldn't have blocked it out. The air conditioning unit in the room was also loud and quite poor.

Fortunately the man on reception was nice enough to change us to a different room which was much quieter, had better air conditioning but had no windows. We stayed in this room for two nights then was moved on another room at the top of the building for the last. This was through what seemed like the staff sleeping quarters which made it quite awkward to walk back and forth to the room with all of them staring at you.

The shared bathrooms were not very clean and doubled up as the eating/socialising area.

On the plus side the hostel is in a brilliant location. Right next to Bugis MRT station (with two lines that you can take to see all the main attractions in Singapore) and Bugis Junction shopping mall that has a lot of places to eat and shop. The receptionist did try his best to sort things out for us and was very helpful with any problems.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mchgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

I got a private room was assured air conditioning worked. It didn't was warm and muggy. The shower was okay. The Western toilet is very tight. The stairwells to upper levels loaded with combustibles. As hot as the private room was I would hate to have been in a dorm. Also the mattress should have been thrown away 10 years ago. You ride the springs all night.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

If you are are look for a no frills budget room in Singapore then this place is great. Brilliant central location near Raffles hotel and walking distance to the MRT ( Bugis )
The rooms are basically a bed and a side table but they are clean and have aircon for $50. Breakfast is included , again basic ( unlimited toast with tea/coffee ) but still good.
Helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We could see this place from the hotel we stayed at. The place is a basic cafe but serves exceptionally tasty food. The staff are friendly and helpful and welcoming I liked that especially.

We got back late from a trip and saw it was open. I ordered a chicken roti takeaway it was freshly made and the curry sauce was so tasty. The portion size was generous I couldn't finish it all, well worth a visit. Try it and you won't be disappointed

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Unpickedpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I stayed there last Nov. 15-16, this year. They were painting the stairs at that time so we have to go to the backend door. They will ask for all the passport of the guests staying in the room. Bathrooms are old, yet clean (not super clean) and at least there is no smell. The building looks kind of old already. Room was big enough and more space than in shared dorm, also its clean but they forgot to prepare the blankets. We had to go to the reception area to ask for it. The place is very close to the MRT like 2 minutes walk and just opposite BUGIS JUNCTION MALL and near BUGIS Street where we shop all day. I recommend this place if you're not picky and the price is affordable like 60 SGD for three of us private room already but bathroom is shared.

We didn't take breakfast since we left around 6:00 AM for our flights.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81-Bugis
#239 of 319 in Singapore
223 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#8 of 82 in Singapore
61 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel NuVe
Hotel NuVe
#3 of 82 in Singapore
256 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 319 in Singapore
23,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse

Address: 490 North Bridge Road | 2nd Floor, Singapore 188736, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $52 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker Cozy Corner Guesthouse Hotel Singapore
Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing