We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Park View Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beach Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Marrison Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 81-Bugis(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Kai(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
14
32
32
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
32
32
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbugis junctionunlimited toastprovide free breakfastfast internet connectionbudget roomno windowcheap foodtea coffeeraffles hotelmrtcleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We were a bit put off after we had already booked this and then read the reviews, suggesting that it's a pretty bad place. However, for a one night stopover to break up a long haul flight we thought it was a good stay. We stayed in room 22, a private room for 2 (a single bunk bed) with air con and a shared bathroom. The beds were comfortable enough, although squeaked quite loudly when you rolled over in your sleep. The sheets seemed clean enough, although the only thing given for your top was an old blanket. I wasn't sure this was clean so slept in my clothes. The air con was fantastic, after a short while of blasting it when we first arrived our room was ice cold. There is no window in the room, but this also means it was a quiet room as it was away from the street. Wifi worked well, even managing to watch a football match at night. The shared bathrooms were ok, not great but they did the job. The right hand shower gave warm water, the left was only cold when i tried. Breakfast was unlimited toast, tea and coffee. Bit of a weird place, but comfortable and quiet enough. Great location as already mentioned, there's a shopping mall just across the street and downstairs there is good and cheap food.

Room Tip: Room 22 was good.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank baldock92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived we were put in a room overlooking the main road. The windows in the room couldn't be closed properly so we could hear all the noise from the road outside, so much so that ear plugs wouldn't have blocked it out. The air conditioning unit in the room was also loud and quite poor.

Fortunately the man on reception was nice enough to change us to a different room which was much quieter, had better air conditioning but had no windows. We stayed in this room for two nights then was moved on another room at the top of the building for the last. This was through what seemed like the staff sleeping quarters which made it quite awkward to walk back and forth to the room with all of them staring at you.

The shared bathrooms were not very clean and doubled up as the eating/socialising area.

On the plus side the hostel is in a brilliant location. Right next to Bugis MRT station (with two lines that you can take to see all the main attractions in Singapore) and Bugis Junction shopping mall that has a lot of places to eat and shop. The receptionist did try his best to sort things out for us and was very helpful with any problems.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank mchgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

I got a private room was assured air conditioning worked. It didn't was warm and muggy. The shower was okay. The Western toilet is very tight. The stairwells to upper levels loaded with combustibles. As hot as the private room was I would hate to have been in a dorm. Also the mattress should have been thrown away 10 years ago. You ride the springs all night.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

If you are are look for a no frills budget room in Singapore then this place is great. Brilliant central location near Raffles hotel and walking distance to the MRT ( Bugis )
The rooms are basically a bed and a side table but they are clean and have aircon for $50. Breakfast is included , again basic ( unlimited toast with tea/coffee ) but still good.
Helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We could see this place from the hotel we stayed at. The place is a basic cafe but serves exceptionally tasty food. The staff are friendly and helpful and welcoming I liked that especially.

We got back late from a trip and saw it was open. I ordered a chicken roti takeaway it was freshly made and the curry sauce was so tasty. The portion size was generous I couldn't finish it all, well worth a visit. Try it and you won't be disappointed

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Unpickedpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews