We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“soothing ambience, good servive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lewin Terrace

Lewin Terrace
Ranked #253 of 10,497 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“soothing ambience, good servive”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had made areservation for 4 but subssequently amended the reservation to 5. However when I turned up, the table set for us was only for 4.
In spite of the confusion, the table was quickly set up again to accomodate all of us in double quick time.
Food was delicious although nothing really stood out this visit.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co

Helpful?
Thank Kitty4433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great experience with Chef Matsumoto and * pastry chef from Japan”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant is set on a hill amongst the vegetation in Fort Canning; just less than 50 steps from a car park at the foothill in-between a stamp museum and the masons, low and behold a black and white bungalow appears. This is our return visit to Lewin Terrace 3 months ago in January 2017.

The menu at Lewin Terrace is generally Japanese-French cuisine. On this rainy day, we had lunch as part of World Gourmet Summit Epicurean Delights, where Chef Matsumoto culinary expertise was paired with Pastry Chef Kiriko Nakamura from Japan. Both delighted us in-person and in their cuisine!

Chef Matsumoto presented 3 dishes comprising Mont Blanc with Wagyu beef, Japanese influenced bouillabase, and main course of beef onion rice. Chef's Matsumoto rendition of Mont Blanc starter was rather unique where chopped marinated Wagyu were covered with stripes of potato made to pasta. To us, this dish is what you could find in an established fine dining restaurant, with Michelin stars.

Next two were desserts presented by pastry chef Kiriko. First dessert was combination of sorbet-like fruits, herbs (basil) best consumed with your fastest fingers. Second dessert was an array of strawberries and cream compliments of Sakura season. Great dessert and effort!

Lewin Terrace serves wines from Japan which is not common in SG. Their head sommelier Axel was helpful in explaining the wine pairings including details such as the grape varietal, alcohol strength and history of the chateau.

Overall we will be back for the food and wine, but will skip the still/sparkling water at S$8 per pax that was tad steep.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co

Helpful?
Thank Weiboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Wedding Venue ”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After evaluating many different options my partner (now wife) and I settled on Lewin Terrace as our wedding venue. Lovely venue in the heart of Fort Canning Park and with a nice balance between indoor and shaded outdoor spaces - what more could you ask for.
Right from the start, our two in-house professional event planners, Shima-san and Chong Hwee, stepped up to the plate and helped us begin to coordinate the many elements that would be essential in ensuring a successful wedding. Outstanding attention to detail and valuable guidance all round gave us confidence we were in good hands. This attention was maintained all the way up to the day itself, leaving nothing to chance.
The day itself passed by in a blur for us, but the feedback from all of our guests was universally excellent - it was an absolutely sensational event and the quality and presentation of each and every dish was perfectly cooked and delicious considering the number of guests involved.
As much as everything truly did exceed our expectations, what was most impressive in my view was the astonishing performance from Chef and his brigade - each dish was executed perfectly, from Hokkaido scallop to Japanese Wagyu, everything was plated beautifully and truly delicious.
Highly recommended for events both large and small - I actually returned to celebrate my birthday only 3 weeks after the wedding!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank RBRG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing romantic night”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Celebrated 9th year anniversary with my partner here. I was contemplating whether to celebrate at 1-michelin star Waku Ghin or Lewin Terrace. I chose the latter due to the swift and friendly staff on the phone during reservation who was all out to please. Lewin Terrace chef entertained our request for a special sea-urchin starter on top of his regular menu. And that we could have a nice alfesco corner for our 7pm dinner. (Waku Ghin reservation experience was not so pleasant. They disregarded our anniversary, insisted our dinner to start at 530pm as they had 2 shifts).

We ordered the set menu with wine pairing. We were very impressed with our Japanese sommelier who explained in detail every wine presented to us. Very professional and knowledgeable. He offered an additional glass of white, which was a very nice gesture. When it was time for dessert, the staff photographed us with a camera and presented us our framed photo after. A very touching gesture.

Having eaten in many good restaurants here in Singapore and during our travels, what prompt me to write this review are a few folds. Lewin Terrace deserves 5 stars for its reasonably good Jap-French food and wine, a budget that will not burst your wallet. The dining experience is surreal and romantic, but not pretentious. Its service is attentive but unobstrusive.

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank eemin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fab Fusion”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Well worth a visit.
The entire meal was beautifully presented even down to the Japanese ceramics.
The winter menu was intelligent, creative and original. Staff were excellent.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co

Helpful?
Thank fowkesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewin Terrace also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Lewin Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing