We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpromises, overpriced, underperforms”
Review of Lewin Terrace

Lewin Terrace
Ranked #396 of 12,644 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Historic venue for Fine Dining, Weddings and Events. Lewin Terrace is an East Meets West, Japanese-French Innovative Style Restaurant. Nestled amidst the lush greenery of Fort Canning, the restaurant is housed in a historic neo-classical colonial bungalow that is the former residence of the Chief who headed the Central Fire Station on Hill Street. In addition to delivering a menu incorporating the Japanese’s precision, French techniques and Singapore inspired flavours and ingredients, at the heart of this restaurant is the renowned Omotenashi. The fine art of Japanese hospitality and entertaining where guests’ needs are anticipated and service is delivered discreetly yet with precision.
Reviewed 11 August 2018

The Lewin Terrace website shows a very attractive terraced restaurant, and the menu is impressive. Unfortunately our visit here left us underwhelmed and vowing not to return.
The problems are evident from the beginning. The bread rolls are of the rubbery budget hotel breakfast buffet variety, and shockingly bad. The table has little disposable paper napkins, not a linen one. Not fine dining.
My starter of foie gras on a bed of risotto was drowned in a clear soup which makes the risotto cake break up and float away, so is difficult to eat. I don't see the point. My main of beef cheek was good though. My companion said his prawn starter was okay, but the cod main lacked flavour. We shared a peach sorbet dessert, which was okay, and beat a hasty retreat, after paying $370 for a meal I would say was worth half that.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IPC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LewinTerrace, Manager at Lewin Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Mr Chandler, we are sorry to hear you had such an unpleasant experience with us and we completely understand your disappointment during your last visit. During a non-event dining set up, we do use linen napkins as part of our table setting as a fine dining restaurant, however as you had visited us on our monthly Jazz Night evening, the Veranda was set for a more casual dining experience. For this, we would like to sincerely apologize if the set up had fallen short of your expectations and will be working on improving our communication to diners who are visiting us on Jazz Night evenings. On an additional note, we are glad to hear that you had enjoyed some of the dishes served to you that evening and will definitely bring your feedback up to our kitchen team. We are constantly working on improving and hope that you will give us another chance to show you the true Lewin Terrace experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

I was actually quite disappointed. The ambience was good and the service was about average.

However the food was not up to par.

Ordered the lamb, came out gamey and had a weird paring with curry sauce and coffee. Tasteed just weird. The signature cod probably came up the most promising but was still short on character. Perhaps a dash of yuzu wld have brought more life to the fish. The last dish we tried was the catch of the day, a black grouper. Though the fish was fresh it was bland and did not leave much of an impression. Pricey. Have found better at Michelin started eateries for the same price spent.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank 204alvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Impeccable service, welcoming and lush ambience, the seasonal matcha dessert buffet is a must-try for those with a sweet tooth and fetish for matcha!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank xd_nat_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LewinTerrace, Guest Relations Manager at Lewin Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for visiting Lewin Terrace! We're glad you had a wonderful experience at our restaurant and enjoyed the Oh! Matcha Dessert Buffet.

We hope to see you again at Lewin Terrace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Went for Mother's Day lunch. Great non-alcoholic pairing with each course of the 4-course set lunch, which came as a fantastic surprise for my wife. Tranquil and relaxing outdoor ambience. No mosquito bites. Attentive servers and two chefs came out to our table to give an introduction about the main course and dessert respectively. Lunch ended with my wife receiving a flower from the restaurant. Lovely and memorable experience.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank SjUSTSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LewinTerrace, Public Relations Manager at Lewin Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear SjUSTSG,

We would like to thank you for your visit and taking the time to write such kind words to us.

It is our pleasure to make your celebration a pleasurable one.

We hope to see you again soon at Lewin Terrace!

Cheers,
Lewin Terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

I had my wedding reception at Lewin Terrace. It was fantastic. Yuriko-chan the lead manager arranged the details of the planning and reception and ensured that the guests dietary restrictions were met. The food was served in the correct order.

The food itself had great reviews from everyone at our table. The bread was fantastic and so was the starters (smoked duck shiokouji), the cod saikyo miso and especially the mains which was the miyazaki Japanese pork loin.

Setting is serene - overall a great place to dine!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VikneshD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LewinTerrace, Public Relations Manager at Lewin Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Viknesh,

Thank you for your kind words and trust in Lewin Terrace!
It was our absolute pleasure to make your joyous occasion a smooth and positive experience.

We're happy to welcome you back to dine with us, anytime.

Congratulations, and best wishes.

Cheers,
Lewin Terrace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewin Terrace also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Lewin Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing