We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value ”
Review of Upper Place

Upper Place
Ranked #914 of 11,377 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighbourhood: Tiong Bahru
Description: Nestled on the rooftop of the WANGZ Hotel, Upper Place offers a stylish and relaxed ambience perfect for business lunches, afterwork drinks, romantic evenings for two and intimate group dinners. With a panoramic view of the cityscape, guests may indulge in an eclectic menu of modern European cuisine, complemented with a choice of premium wines from around the world.
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The rooftop restaurant of Wangz Hotel is a quiet respite from the city and a bit of a hidden gem. It's not one of those hip restaurants regularly featured in magazines write-ups and so remains largely under the radar. Which is a bit of a shame. While I wouldn't say it's a budget restaurant, you do get pretty good value for what you pay. We had the set dinner, and the courses are all taken from the a la carte menu. Food was plentiful and the service excellent. Would be going back this Friday for lunch. Let's see what the lunch menu looks like.

Thank Sychim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirly_Hing, Marketing Communications Manager at Upper Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Sychim,

Thank you for your positive review and is our pleasure to have you with us at Upper Place. At Upper Place, we strive to use the freshest ingredients while keeping our cost in check so our patrons get to enjoy delicious food at a best value.

We look forward to see you at Upper Place later this afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017

Second time I've been to this place. Food on both occasions were excellent, meticulously prepared to a very high standard. View of the city was an added bonus to the entire dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oofed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirly_Hing, Marketing Communications Manager at Upper Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear oofed,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Hope to see you back at Upper Place once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Fresh ingredients prepared & served fresh! For those who love healthy, less salted food, this place is for you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank rachelppg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirly_Hing, Marketing Communications Manager at Upper Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Rachelppg,

Thank you for your feedback on the food. At Upper Place, we strive to use the freshest ingredients for all our dishes.

We, the team at Upper Place, look forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Great food
The lobster and salmon was great
Fusion Japanese and western
Excellent atmosphere
The food display was perfect too
Lighting is great for food pic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank tongl386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Was there for a birthday celebration but the food fell short of expectations . The signature items like laksa risotto was not available that night as well

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangJie, Owner's Representative at Upper Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear April T,

Thank you for the frank feedback of your dining experience.

We apologize for the non-availability of the Laksa Risotto the night you dined with us and understand your disappointment, especially since it was for a birthday celebration which is meant to be a happy occasion.

At the same time, I would like request if you could kindly take the time to e-mail me directly at cjie.wang@wangzhotel.com and share with me the details of your dining experience and how the food fell short. Your feedback will only help us to further improve as a restaurant and to ensure we deliver quality food to every customer each time they step inside Upper Place.

Much appreciated and I hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Place also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Upper Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing