We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhubarb

Rhubarb
Ranked #5 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$138
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: A small fine French restaurant set up by Paul Longworth, Jerome Desfonds & Au Petit Salut. Contempory approach to French cuisine with very personalised service. A well worked out and affordable wine list to completment the dining experience.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

Love the atmosphere when I first walked into the restaurant. Had read many great reviews about the place and was excited about the visit. However, the experience was a great disappointment due to the bad service of a young waiter. the waiter's attitude was indescribably bad. I will not revisit or recommend the place no matter how good the food is.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jentsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    55
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Attitude spoils the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This is a nice small restaurant, and we had high expectations, not just for the food but also the service.

The food is of a high quality for sure, but the service oh man!! My Wife was chastised by the waiter for wanting to try a little bit of bread because she had said she had a wheat allergy, surely it's up to her to manage the risk?

I would love to try the food again, but because of the service, I wouldn't bother. So why still 3 points? because I believe YOU can go and have a excellent experience, for me I cannot.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“A significant birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

We were recommended to Rhubarb by our Melbourne travel agent for a significant (the big 70) birthday and were not disappointed.
We were first in at around 6.30 so had the opportunity to sense the vibe of the place as we started our meal. Its a great vibe, from both the open kitchen and the attentive front of house staff, and through the night were were visited by both the maitre d' and the executive chef. I guess that's one of the benefits of having only 7 tables!
The degustation was perfect, with serving sizes and timing service to the highest standard.
Our waiter, herself a chef, was extremely knowledgeable, and kept us up to date as each course arrived, including the additional "free" ones in between, as my wife likes to say.
And to top it off, when we reached dessert, out came the plate with a birthday greeting on the plate (in French of course).
This was a night that delivered on expectations.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional lunch in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

Some of the best service we've enjoyed in SG. Personable and genuine. Fine dining but not fussy or stuffy. Very reasonable wine list in terms of value and pricing. 3 Course lunch menu a steal at $40. Coravin option for vintage wine a really nice perk. Top choice for delivering on high expectations.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

We organised a taxi to Rhubard Le Restaurant near Chinatown. We had read about it on TripAdvisor and we had booked a seat when we arrived in Singapore as they only have 7 tables. Tiny French restaurant with French wait staff – felt like we very in Paris! We selected the 3 course lunch menu and were not disappointed. Excellent value at S$42 (plus taxes). My husband had the Emulsion du Marche, followed by Canadian port tenderloin, cotechino and pine barley and caramelised pineapple, coconut pulp, nana de coco with fromage blanc sorbet for dessert. I had heirloom tomatoes, ricotta, burnt pomelo with Yunupingu pearl to start, followed by lamb leg & tongue, potato galette and pea pulp and chocolate brownie, salted caramel, peanut praline and vanilla ice cream to finish. Yum, Yum!

  • Visited October 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing