We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhubarb

Rhubarb
Ranked #5 of 10,419 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$138
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: A small fine French restaurant set up by Paul Longworth, Jerome Desfonds & Au Petit Salut. Contempory approach to French cuisine with very personalised service. A well worked out and affordable wine list to completment the dining experience.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As it was for a special occasion we decided to go for the 5-course set menu and it was superb. Special mention for the foie gras and the venison, very nicely prepared and accommodated. Based on advice we had the meal washed down with a Saint-Joseph an excellent Côte-Rôtie, reasonably priced for the quality it offered. Service was professional yet friendly. Definitely highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc_from_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    55
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time here ( just passing through for 3 nights) both myself and partner had seared fois gras to start then we had mains of Pigeon and John Dory, all food was superbly cooked with some lovely flavour combinations. A nice touch was chef coming out to serve the starters and adding a grating of horseradish, also coming front of house to thank people as they were leaving.
All of the staff were superb, a most enjoyable evening

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DP777XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top food and wine, fairly priced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a reservation for six on a Saturday (last) night, we arrived just after 8:30pm and started with a half bottle of pinot noir. I can only say that the evening got better progressively. The foie gras was the best I have had, the fish was normal (have definitely had better Dory - maybe they should look into what fish they want to use). The beef, which everyone else on the table had, was the winner!
They have this oyster leaf preparation which isn't for the faint of heart!
For dessert, we tried pretty much everything on the menu and it was all above average.
When i compare this to Jaan, the portions are a lot better and the quality is definitely more competitive. So if view isn't your top priority (and food is), I'd highly recommend Rhubarb. 3 hours well spent & the total damage was around $1,200 for six.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rantsfromragz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great evening!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been here before and love this food. It is really worth flying from Bangkok to eat here. Thank you Paul for making this great food. A big thanks to Ellie for great service with a great sense of humor. We will come back

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovefoodandwine46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Another great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled from Bangkok specially to have dinner here (for the second time) and it was just as good as the first.

We both went with the full set including wine pairing. Great dishes created by chef Paul main highlights from the set was pan seared foie gras with seared Sturgeon and pumpkin emulsion. (First visit was onion, that was also super but I think pumpkin was even better) but all dishes were faultless.

Ellie the server has a dry and refreshing sense of humor paired with efficient and informative service, she's great.

Great wines paired with the food too!

Very small comment, when the kitchen is in full swing the escaping "aromas" can be a bit heavy when sitting at the chef's table. I don't mind this, but maybe others might not like it if they don't want their silk Chanel scarfs to smell like gourmet heaven.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ivor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing