We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and good attention to detail”
Review of Rhubarb

Rhubarb
Ranked #5 of 10,917 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$138
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: A small fine French restaurant set up by Paul Longworth, Jerome Desfonds & Au Petit Salut. Contempory approach to French cuisine with very personalised service. A well worked out and affordable wine list to completment the dining experience.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intimate and good attention to detail”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Owned and run by a conscientious and very capable Englishman - this place has lots of good things to offer.

We had the set menu for the evening for 4 people - on a Tues night - it was a handful of tables in a very intimate setting (about a dozen tables). Food was superb. There were ingredients I don't normally like but I appreciate that it is very well done. I don't like sweet flavours in starters and mains, but he made it work well and I actually liked what he produced. Beautifully presented as well.

Another recommendable place in Sing. On the higher end, so depending on the wine, can be about $S400 a person.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonec1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    60
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2017

As it was for a special occasion we decided to go for the 5-course set menu and it was superb. Special mention for the foie gras and the venison, very nicely prepared and accommodated. Based on advice we had the meal washed down with a Saint-Joseph an excellent Côte-Rôtie, reasonably priced for the quality it offered. Service was professional yet friendly. Definitely highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc_from_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

First time here ( just passing through for 3 nights) both myself and partner had seared fois gras to start then we had mains of Pigeon and John Dory, all food was superbly cooked with some lovely flavour combinations. A nice touch was chef coming out to serve the starters and adding a grating of horseradish, also coming front of house to thank people as they were leaving.
All of the staff were superb, a most enjoyable evening

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DP777XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top food and wine, fairly priced!”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had a reservation for six on a Saturday (last) night, we arrived just after 8:30pm and started with a half bottle of pinot noir. I can only say that the evening got better progressively. The foie gras was the best I have had, the fish was normal (have definitely had better Dory - maybe they should look into what fish they want to use). The beef, which everyone else on the table had, was the winner!
They have this oyster leaf preparation which isn't for the faint of heart!
For dessert, we tried pretty much everything on the menu and it was all above average.
When i compare this to Jaan, the portions are a lot better and the quality is definitely more competitive. So if view isn't your top priority (and food is), I'd highly recommend Rhubarb. 3 hours well spent & the total damage was around $1,200 for six.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rantsfromragz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great evening!!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We have been here before and love this food. It is really worth flying from Bangkok to eat here. Thank you Paul for making this great food. A big thanks to Ellie for great service with a great sense of humor. We will come back

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovefoodandwine46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing