We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Fantastic bookstore and a must see destination” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinokuniya Bookstore

Kinokuniya Bookstore
Ranked #19 of 502 Shopping in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic bookstore and a must see destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place blew me away. I have never seen such a selection in one place. I love fashion and design and checked this area out immediately. Such an amazing array of textbooks, idea books, picture books. I spent a couple of hours here. They will take the plastic off the books on request.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven for book lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

In Indonesia, book stores always wrap their books in plastics in order to prevent visitors to read or ruin them. But in here, books are not wrapped in plastics so visitors can freely read the books (and amazingly all books are still in good conditions). So I was like spending 3 hours here, checking and browsing lots of books before deciding to buy three. The book collection is amazing, I could find almost all books that I want to read here. One complaint is that there was no seat so people were just sitting around in every corner, which can disturb other visitors.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank keroeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You can get lost in this bookstore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

We loved the Japanese section of the store with endless Manga titles and the Miyazaki (think Totoro) plush toys, which we oooed and arrh over. You can spend lots of money here or just spend time browsing for hours at the incredible range of books in English, Japanese and Chinese (and more). If you are short on time in Singapore, dont have this high on your list, but if you're walking past and need some air con then definitely stop here for a look.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank starfishgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A gem in a sea of designer shops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

This shop is a real gem. Book shops are few and far between in Singapore. This branch of Kinokuniya in Takashimaya (Ngee Ann mall), has all you can expect from a vast Japanese book store (there are three other smaller branches). The manga section is extensive and is accompanied by models, character nanoblock sets, etc., but all tastes are catered fro from Fifty Shades to Shakespeare.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Seatroutfisher-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A treasure trove for hard copy book lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

In a city that has lost most of it's bookstores, Kinokuniya is a real treasure trove for books. Right in the heart of Orchard Road it's main store is easy to get to. It also has three other branches in Singapore. The store has all the usual classifications with a pretty good range of titles. Long may it live! I hope this review might persuade you to visit it and help keep this important resource for the residents of, and visitors to Singapore

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank alan8460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinokuniya Bookstore also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Kinokuniya Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing