We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprising and Most Pleasant Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #7 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Surprising and Most Pleasant Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I usually stay in the Orchard or Marina areas, but decided to give the Hotel Vagabond a try. It's a smaller, boutique hotel with a lot of character affiliated with Starwood/Marriott. It's located between Little India and Kampong Glam and easily walkable to Raffles, Marina, and other areas.

My room was smaller than other hotels I've stayed at in Singapore, but very comfortable and had everything I needed. The room came with a complimentary mobile phone which is fantastic for those of us with US phones. It came with internet access, maps, and allows you to call several countries including the US for free.

There is a nice lounge and restaurant area in the lobby. I suspect once locals find out about the hotel, the lounge area will be quite popular. A fitness center is being added. For those who enjoy swimming, there is no pool. Service is friendly, helpful, and professional. Would definitely consider returning!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKHNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondSingapore, General Manager at Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear DKHNL,

Thank you for saying, 'would definitely consider returning'...that is the biggest compliment a hotel can receive!

Warm Regards,

Lady Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    78
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
209
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The Vagabond is centrally located in the Indian quarter in Singapore (39, Syed Alwi Road).
I informed them two weeks in advance by email that I would arrive late after 10:00pm.
When I arrived at the hotel, no one was at the reception. The guy cleaning the floors opened the door for me and had me seated in the lobby. Then he went to call someone. It took more than 15' until someone arrived to check me in although I had a premium reservation.

The room was clean but small, but amenities good, a/c working well. WiFi access slow (I had to submit academic papers which was why this was relevant) though as I had received standard access although I paid for the premium one.
When I placed my enquiry at the lobby, I had to wait 15' until someone informed me they were mistaken.
Further, in the guest rooms instruction/menu book was a misleading information about laundry service charge. And the welcome letter stated that there was no in-house gym. I chose that hotel also because they offered an in-house gym.
Obviously one of the guests before me was quite upset about this and checked out.

The apologized several times but still would not offer me a free drink nor explain properly what the problems really were(!).

The service at the bar was excellent.
Breakfast service was ok, breakfast menu was very poor.

All in all; a neet place (safe and clean) but far below five stars (missmanagement, poor communication, missleading menu and welcome letter, poor food choice and troubleshooting and guest relations management)...!
Really NOT worth the SGD 360 per night!!!!!

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Benji_Suiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondSingapore, General Manager at Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Benji_Suiza,

I am very sorry that you expereinced the transition of some changes in programming, but thank you so much for saying that the 'service at the bar was excellent', and that 'all in all...a neet place (safe and clean).

Yes, the gym was inaccurately stated as open when it will not be so until the end of this month; the wifi ought not have been slow as we get 1 Terabyte coming into a hotel of 41 rooms - so it is actually an overkill - however - we are looking into what may have happened in your case.

The staff ought not to have taken 15 minutes to come to the Rhino to check you in...again will look into what happened here.

Sorry too that you felt you should have been compensated a free drink instead of receiveing the the apologies. My Hotel Manager assures me she did try to explain the causes for the unusual issues you suffered.

Warm Regards,

Lady Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto Bay, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great boutique hotel, luxurious rooms and fantastic ambiance.
The best part was that the hotel was able to arrange private pick up when I arrived at 3am from the States. The staff is very friendly and always helpful, I truly enjoyed my stay and will come back for sure.

Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yuritazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondSingapore, General Manager at Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear yuritazoe,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for saying, 'the staff is very friendly and always helpful, I truly enjoyed my stay and will come back for sure'.

So glad that you appreciated the arrangement of the pick up!

Warm Regards,

Lady Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved this hotel, so that i stayed here more than 1 month (and yup i am still here for more days) when i work in Singapore. Staff are amazingly friendly and bed is awesome. Most lovely is the internet design, very pretty and stylish from outside to inside. I had such comfort for my trip here and i am quite sure i will be back whenever i come back to Singapore :)

Stayed February 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaulMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondSingapore, General Manager at Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PaulMum,

You are so sweet, but so busy that I'm super bummed that I havn't yet been able to 'catch' you - but I know the Team loves having you at the hotel and say you are an awesome guest!

Warm Regards,

Lady Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

one of the most pleasant and eye wide shut hotel stay. sincere service from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegupela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondSingapore, General Manager at Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear pegupela,

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Warm Regards,

Lady Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,698 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: 39 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore 207630, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $259 - $401
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hôtel vagabond Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, is the city's premiere experience-driven luxury boutique hotel, with a focus on genuine Old-World hospitality. The only hotel on the island to feature an Artist-in-Residence programme, this 41-room property is also the first in Asia to feature interiors by the celebrated French designer Jacques Garcia. Garcia has created an enchanting space, full of bold and vibrant colours yet always elegant and comfortable, perfect for those who want their accommodation to marry 5-star luxury with a lot of character. Whether you're looking to impress or unwind, you'll find no better place to be than the most luxurious and high-touch Starwood Executive Lounge in Singapore. The Vagabond Executive Club Lounge (part of a Club room booking) boasts extensive benefits that guests with access can enjoy from 11 am to 6.30 pm daily. Conduct intimate and utterly memorable business meetings in our stunning lounge, fuelled by exquisite light bites and supported by our Premium high speed Wi-Fi and relax in the evenings with outstanding wines, spirits and cheeses. Well-positioned for business and leisure travellers, guests are just 15 minutes away from Singapore's Central Business District and other major attractions like Marina Bay. Complimentary use of our TechnoGym by Antonio Citterio and complimentary use of a mobile phone with unlimited local data and calls will help you be fit and find all the best spots on the island. The more adventurous can explore the heritage enclaves of Kampong Glam and Little India right on their doorstep, armed with our original walking maps. After exploring the city, end the day with a nightcap from Bar Vagabond and then enjoy our complimentary selection of in-room movies, curated especially for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing