We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the dumplings”

Din Tai Fung (Paragon Branch)
Ranked #32 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Orchard Road
Description: Locals love Din Tai Fung Restaurant because you can never go wrong with its concise menu and consistent food quality. Most popular here is the xiao long bao, filled with a light soup and fresh succulent pork, wrapped in a beautifully thin skin.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
286 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 551 helpful votes
“Go for the dumplings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decor isn’t the most refined, the tables are small, the chairs not particularly comfortable and the ceiling is low, but we’d been recommended this place so we disregarded all of the above.

We didn’t wait to be seated though it was early afternoon. The waitress brought jasmine tea, the menu and a curious contraption on legs with a cover in which to place our bags, the minute we sat down.

We wanted dumplings so that’s what we went for, including the signature steamed truffle and pork and steamed gourd and shrimp dumplings, as well as bok choi along with two bottles of beer.

The dumplings were fabulous with tasty, crunchy (for the vegetables) fillings but the vegetables were disappointing, slightly watery and under seasoned. Service was efficient but not particularly friendly. The bill was salty for Singapore but then we were shocked at how much more food here costs these days.

Go for the dumplings which mitigate the place’s other shortcomings.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    335
    113
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopping for one night in Singapore on the way to Japan I made sure we went for lunch to this restaurant. As always very busy we had to wait few minutes for the table. The dumplings were delicious, my favourite ones steamed pork to die for.
Stir-fried vegies with garlic very tasty.
Jasmine tea is seved all the time.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ania24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Dim sum at relatively quiet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend introduced me to this branch because the quality of the food there is consistent and the ambience is good. On top of that, it is relatively big and quieter. The queues are long but not if you come around early weekday evenings (i.e. around 530pm). The service is excellent and you have an additional basket to place your bag and cover it. Worth to visit.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShuFen_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Xiao long bao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Taiwanese xiao long bao is very well know especially with their pork base and crab base . Do try their dou miau veg , it is amazing.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
297 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Dumplings SOOO SOOO delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2017

Din Tai Fung (Paragon Branch) wanted to try this place for a while now. Overall a nice place lively ambience and great to be able to see their dumplings being made by hand. Just watching the chefs preparing the dumplings its worth to going there. The handmade dumplings with various fillings are delicious. We tried the vegetarian chive steamed dumplings which were all uniform and made perfectly, and Their Xiao Long Bao are quite good, again perfectly made and delicate and very moist. Perfect for brunch, lunch or dinner. Menu is quite extensive it does feel like a chain restaurant. Be prepared to queue for some time because this place is highly visited, waiting time can be 60 minutes over, try to avoid peak times around noon and 6pm. big plus also goes for the service is efficient, and the staff were friendly and thoughtful, making our dining experience a memorable one.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVI888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Paragon Branch) also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Paragon Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing