We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How The Mighty Have Fallen”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Spize River Valley

Spize River Valley
Ranked #491 of 10,524 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tanglin
Description: Spize offers a Uniquely Singapore al-fresco dining experience with a careful selection of our favourite recipes. From the much loved Western and Mediterranean, Spicy Indian, Authentic Thai to our favourite Singapore local street food!Spize delivers a wide selection of exquisite street delights satisfying thousands of dinners daily at superb value!Spize is also conveniently located with strategic operating hours and has for years been the ideal pit-stop for post party grub and late supper meals amongst locals and friends from lands afar.The Spize team consistently strives to improve our service delivery and the continuous fine tuning of our culinary efforts have been winning us many loyal supporting fans and a few humbling awards.Browse through our menu offerings, pick your favourite items and we look forward to your next visit.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“How The Mighty Have Fallen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I used to live close by and Spize was a regular haunt serving good, affordable fare.

Upon a recent visit back I was dismayed and disappointed at how its changed.

The place as revamped from shop house hawker and morphed into a "proper restaurant". Along with that change the prices appear to have sky rocketed. The food was always reasonably priced but that's no longer the case sadly. I'd now rate this as signicantly over priced.

Sad to see a Singapore favourite fall foul of the endless need to change (not for the better)

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank HolidaySeeker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpizePteLtd, Owner at Spize River Valley, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear HolidaySeeker999

We would like to sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback. Revamping Spize to a "Proper Restaurant" was a conscious decision that was done out of necessity as well as with the honest and sincere intention to deliver a better product to our guest.

It was done out of necessity as during our joint meeting with the NEA, SCDF, LTA , URA and the PMO we were given an ultimatum to stop placing our tables on State owned land or risk having our license revoked.

We decided to take on an additional unit primarily to ensure that we had enough seats for our guest. This , coupled with being victims of our "Mighty" status resulted in our Rental going from $9950 a month ( 2003 )to $47750 a month. ( 2017 ).

With Foreign Worker Levys rising from $120 to $800 and a 40% increase in Utilities since 2003 we made another conscious to remain in business by increasing our prices.

Unfortunately the rise in income levels as in your case have not sky rocketed as much as our operational cost.

Nostalgia is something that we always try to hang on to. Our memories of how things were will always comfort us. Spize sold out and chose to be realistic in a country that embraces change and innovation.

Unfortunately you lose some and you win some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    113
    39
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“E-spize-tially disappointing ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Waiters are useless, service is painfully slow. Waited over an hour for food and then ended up cancelling. Many tables that arrived after us were served. Very confusing and no communication. Manager was not apologetic at all and wanted to charge us for the dishes we were still waiting for. If you can't handle the amount of customers then don't let them in! Avoid the spize.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Been here for many times with my friends after work and always look forward with their yummy food! Best place to chill after party

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ninzpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Ridiculous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2017

I ordered online bedok outlet as they have variety to choose from.
Emailed was send to me to say that food confirmed order received but
Staff called in to say i can only order from river valley which has not much choice
Such a disspoinment staff was unprofessional in doing their work when customer service called me and said that 7$ delivery chrges only for river valley as if i cnt afford
What a shame!management have to take this into account .first time ordering and bad experienced .staff came and when told there'no change for 10 cents he still insist
What a joke .

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fasliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Affordable good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017

The food variety is great. It is also relatively affordable. I certainly enjoy it with my date that day.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co

Helpful?
Thank weilongy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spize River Valley also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Spize River Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing