We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spize river valley”
Review of Spize River Valley

Spize River Valley
Ranked #760 of 11,481 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Malaysian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tanglin
Description: Spize offers a Uniquely Singapore al-fresco dining experience with a careful selection of our favourite recipes. From the much loved Western and Mediterranean, Spicy Indian, Authentic Thai to our favourite Singapore local street food!Spize delivers a wide selection of exquisite street delights satisfying thousands of dinners daily at superb value!Spize is also conveniently located with strategic operating hours and has for years been the ideal pit-stop for post party grub and late supper meals amongst locals and friends from lands afar.The Spize team consistently strives to improve our service delivery and the continuous fine tuning of our culinary efforts have been winning us many loyal supporting fans and a few humbling awards.Browse through our menu offerings, pick your favourite items and we look forward to your next visit.
Reviewed 7 April 2017

My reservation was correctly display and was ushered to my table within mins even though it was full hse.. food was good and large portion

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Ezahdarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017

food was quite good. the lack of alcohol is a bit of a bummer because its halal. but we knew that going in, which was a good thing. lot of food options. the place is very busy so the staff may not always be the most attentive. what was most disappointing was having to cut the murtabak in pieces ourselves and when we asked the waiter to have it cut for us, he simply said - i will give you a knife. which was disappointing. but overall, not bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
1  Thank Chope_User
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Amazing local and Malaysian dishes. Tasty as they sounds! Penang char kway teow is a must try. Western offerings are average.

Thank Navin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I used to live close by and Spize was a regular haunt serving good, affordable fare.

Upon a recent visit back I was dismayed and disappointed at how its changed.

The place as revamped from shop house hawker and morphed into a "proper restaurant". Along with that change the prices appear to have sky rocketed. The food was always reasonably priced but that's no longer the case sadly. I'd now rate this as signicantly over priced.

Sad to see a Singapore favourite fall foul of the endless need to change (not for the better)

Thank HolidaySeeker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpizePteLtd, Owner at Spize River Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear HolidaySeeker999

We would like to sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback. Revamping Spize to a "Proper Restaurant" was a conscious decision that was done out of necessity as well as with the honest and sincere intention to deliver a better product to our guest.

It was done out of necessity as during our joint meeting with the NEA, SCDF, LTA , URA and the PMO we were given an ultimatum to stop placing our tables on State owned land or risk having our license revoked.

We decided to take on an additional unit primarily to ensure that we had enough seats for our guest. This , coupled with being victims of our "Mighty" status resulted in our Rental going from $9950 a month ( 2003 )to $47750 a month. ( 2017 ).

With Foreign Worker Levys rising from $120 to $800 and a 40% increase in Utilities since 2003 we made another conscious to remain in business by increasing our prices.

Unfortunately the rise in income levels as in your case have not sky rocketed as much as our operational cost.

Nostalgia is something that we always try to hang on to. Our memories of how things were will always comfort us. Spize sold out and chose to be realistic in a country that embraces change and innovation.

Unfortunately you lose some and you win some.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Waiters are useless, service is painfully slow. Waited over an hour for food and then ended up cancelling. Many tables that arrived after us were served. Very confusing and no communication. Manager was not apologetic at all and wanted to charge us for the dishes we were still waiting for. If you can't handle the amount of customers then don't let them in! Avoid the spize.

Thank nicolawalker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spize River Valley also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Spize River Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing