We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive and Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flutes

Flutes
Ranked #34 of 10,520 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Impressive and Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2015

Overseas business associates were in town and Flutes certainly helped make our business meetings go even better. I wanted the well appointed private dining room but it had been booked by someone else. We were seated in the main dining room. Was a bit hesitant at first.From our pre-dinner drinks and hors-devours to dinner - everything was excellent. Service was attentive, food was very Very good. My British guests enthused it is the best restaurant they have dined in in Singapore. So glad.

  • Visited April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank palatespeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    131
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Careful, Don't book a special occasion here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2015

For many years we have enjoyed the food and staff at the Flutes restaurant. Until today that is. Having booked a special occasion with the restaurant we were informed the day of that our party had been relagated to the back room in favor of a larger booking that suddenly out grew their back room.

So money talks and long standing customers - well they go to the back room. So if you want to avoid dissappointment you might consider booking a special event elsewhere. Unless you are preapared to take up the whole dining room in which case - never mind I am sure that they will value your cash above all else.

We never expected this from Flutes. It is a pitty.

  • Visited April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Photohound55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All girls party ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

Recently went to the Flutes @ National museum with a bunch of girl friends for our "special" birthday celebration. As there was a wedding that afternoon, they allocated the private room to our party of 12. Excellent food, attentive service and great ambience.

Helpful?
3 Thank PaddlesMiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Went for a birthday meal and choose the $99 set meal with my girlfriend and I choosing the different options. We had a slightly long wait for the main put apart from the food service and ambiance very really good. 2nd time I had been and would come again

Helpful?
4 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must Try!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2015

When i first went to this restaurant I was very impressed but i decided to try again before i wrote a review just in case it was a fluke! The short answer is no, it was not a fluke this is a seriously good restaurant and a must try if you live or are visiting Singapore.

Flutes is set in the National Museum of Singapore which is a truly impressive colonial building as is the restaurant with high ceilings, wooden floors and plenty of natural light which makes it great for lunch/brunch but also very impressive for dinner with the museum lit up from the outside.

The service is warm and attentive, the menu is innovative and varied with a bias towards fresh ingredients and seasonal food. There is a clear leaning towards Australian produce which Chef Peter Rollinson cooks to perfection. The wine list has a great selection without it being overwhelming or over priced and should accommodate every taste. I can only suggest that if you like modern fine dining you should try Flutes.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Makkan399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flutes also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Flutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing