We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, quiet dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flutes

Flutes
Ranked #37 of 10,433 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cosy, quiet dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there for husband birthday and they prepared dessert with greetings on it. Staff is friendly and well-trained. We ate the winter edition special menu - food was full of flavor and unexpected twist. Husband is satisfied so am I.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E3600VSjanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    127
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very classy and a delightful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fine range of carefully prepared food and excellent, attentive service. Also there is a wide choice of very good wines, and a friendly, knowledgeable maitre d' who's made a few wine tours himself. The colonial setting is very tasteful.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Davo742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was by far the best restaurant that I've been to while visiting Singapore, the food was great and the service was even better.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic, attentive service. Chef went out of their way to accommodate our tables requirements. A wonderful evening, enjoyed by all

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co

Helpful?
Thank lisalovelldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glorious venue & Stellar service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Flutes' reputation carries over from years back when the restaurant was at the Fort Canning location. After moving to the National Museum of Singapore, it has changed from being a magnet for locals to rather an event destination given the architectural icon it is housed within (think weddings).
Don't drive to the restaurant, parking is nil. Take a cab and enjoy the massive wine list (the Aperitif negroni was pretty good too)
But DO GO, the experience is excellent!

One, the food is supreme and that is a given. Just go to eat, please.
Being able to walk from the cosy and intimate restaurant through the national museum's main entry and atrium at night without a soul around is amazing...BUT Two, the professionalism and attention to detail that the staff brings to the event (a fun meal with good friends) is THE reason to go and sets Flutes apart from a lot of other supposed high-end dining locations.

Ali was our maitre d' for the evening and was an absolute gentleman. It was quiet and he made a point of taking special care of our group of four, suggesting suitable alternatives for the wine when we realised the bottle we drank was the last one in the cellar and ensuring that we were not forced to suffer on price or quality.
Ali helped create alternative options for our vegetarian friends when the menu did not offer them and he was on hand for a quick chat as we wound up the night.

The menu is short but varied. It is arguably not groundbreaking food-flair but rather high quality food delivered cleanly and with excellence in everything.
You cannot beat a burrata and ripe tomatoes; minty pea soup; risotto with a lightly crispy rice topping (unusual and a nice twist compared to normal glugginess) and juicy lamb cutlets with spiced dukkah and roasted eggplant.

What seems to be a Flutes legacy is the dessert plates with written messages on them; happy birthday/happy anniversary/congratulations etc. Between the two couples we have seen a few of these and this trip was no exception. Nice touch by the staff and good skills.

There could be a couple more vegetarian options available but as mentioned the kitchen is skilled enough to offer alternatives on the spot.

It's obviously not a cheap-eat, this is a treat of a location but you'll not be disappointed. Make sure you visit the restrooms and enjoy the wander through the museum; they usually have a standing display in the main atrium that you can peruse if you want...an added bonus to a high quality evening.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flutes also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Flutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing