We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very 'Singapore' experience indeed. A must try!”

G7 Sin Ma Live Seafood Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 07/12
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #104 of 14,314 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Kampong Bugis
Description: G7 Sin Ma Live Seafood is a local seafood restaurant that has stood in Geylang for decades, offering delectable dishes and a relaxed environment for our customers to enjoy the freshest local delicacies, such as our signature Chilli Crab, Black Pepper Crab, Mango Fish, and Shark’s head. Other local specialties not to be missed include Braised Pork Belly in Fragrant Lotus Rice, and of course, our signature mouth-watering Frog Porridge. Opening from 3pm to 3am, we aim to satisfy late night food cravings!
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Singapore is known for many things, but its food has to be in the top 5 categories for sure. The spectrum of possibilities, the unique mix of flavors, the accessible price ranges, and the experience of enjoying the food in the company of folks, a LOT of other folks.

G7 Sin Ma is a quintessential Singapore style establishment. It sits on a relatively quiet street corner, with a very open seating plan. Nearly all of the facade of the restaurant is open to the street, with no walls as such. This is what gives that very unique Singapore feel of eating in the midst of great many folks milling around. The tables and chairs are extremely no-nonsense frugal, and suit the place to a T.

Pros:

The taste, Wow! The signature frog dish served in mild and spicy varieties is just mind-blowing. Very close to Sichuan flavor profiles, but still very much carrying that Singapore stamp. The rice porridge to go with it (very much like a congee) is deceptively simple but amazingly satisfying in its ability to balance the frog curry.

The ambiance: If you want a Singapore style eatery, you've got it. Expect and enjoy lots of people around you, wafting aromas of food being prepared, clamor of all those many conversations and dishes.

Cons:

Beer: Tepid, never really chilled enough, and really only two varieties available. Guinness stout? Really? With Sichuan frog curry? Don't think so.

Pace:

While the restaurant itself moves at a very fast pace, you have to actually flag your server down like a zooming Taxi, for every thing: Get the menus, order your drinks, order your food, ask for extra wet towels, get the check, pay the bill. Somehow it didn't compute with the pace I ordinarily associate with Singapore in general.

That said, I absolutely recommend this place for everyone who is visiting Singapore, and has some desire to enjoy food beyond the usual Terrestrial, Aerial, or Aquatic categories, to venture into the Amphibian world. I say visitors, because obviously the locals don't really seem to need my recommendation :-)

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank entropist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 365 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2015 via mobile

Visited G7 with the local guys I'd been working with in Singapore and loved it! Weary about how well a soft ang moh handle a spicy dish they ordered a selection of clay pot frog legs, ranging from moderate to extra hot and I loved every one. The extra hot was exactly that and the moderate was extremely tasty and would be fine for most. I favoured the spicy option as it struck a good balance between the two.

The guys also ordered some deep fried baby squid (excellent) and fried pig intestines (don't be put off, they're very tasty and a must try for pork lovers) to start.

I'll definitely return and try some of the other dishes the next chance I get. Hopefully I'll manage to navigate the menu without the local help and find a few more hidden gems!

1  Thank HungryJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 March 2015

been here a few time and the price is normal. but if you were to compare with the neighbourhood zi Cha then it is more on the costly side. but normal zi cha dun serve frog porridge. the porridge is still acceptable. and recently i went to order a crab , a fish and 2 other veggies with the frog porridge it cost me around 280 bucks, i think the price is normal. nothing is cheap in singapore.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AriesAffairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My favorite restaurant to get my frog's legs porridge fix. buy 4 get 3 free frogs with a pot of porridge at $30. Other dishes are ok too but prices on the higher side for the portion served. I agree with some of the reviewers, the waitresses will only recommend all the expensive dishes even if you didn't ask them for a recommendation & is pretty insistent too. Even after we have decided what we wanted to eat and order enough food to feed more than the number of us there, the waitress will still try to up sell their starters which aren't cheap for the portions. I have to say, waitresses are very well trained to up sell as much & as expensive as possible which will make any sales manager proud, so you just got to learn to ignore and decide for yourself as there a menu. It can be quite embarrassing if you are having a business meal with a budget so you just got to learn to ignore. Overall, their food is pretty good. I am only giving them a 'very good' rating due to this otherwise it would have been excellent.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fulatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a popular local restaurant that serves very nice seafood dishes. However, you need to be able to speak some Mandarin in order to get the right food in here. Prices are relatively expensive one crab was more than SGD$80 so we didn't go for it. We picked up the crayfish dish for SGD$35 and was very satisfied. Their seafood is very fresh and tasty, worth the money though!

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eden_Jloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed G7 Sin Ma Live Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to G7 Sin Ma Live Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.