We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum in Chinatown!”
Review of Yum Cha Restaurant

Yum Cha Restaurant
Ranked #359 of 10,681 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in Chinatown!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great place to get Dim Sum right in the heart of Chinatown!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezbriand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    196
    87
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good old Yum Cha charm”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We took the High Tea Buffet Promotion - $21.80++ for adults and $16.80++ for children
3pm-6pm (Last order at 5.30pm).

Even thou it's a weekday we got a shock when we enter as there's a huge crowd; we manage to get a table along the restaurant pathway (which is a good choice). :)

We were presented with a menu (which is a A4 size red colour paper), a total of 67 items were listed. There's 5 categories: Steam Dim Sum, Fried Dim Sum ,Rice,Rice Roll & Congee, Side Dishes & Dessert.

The waitress will be pushing a cart around with all the Steam/Fried Dim Sum & Side Dishes, just tell her what u want or u could simply point at the dishes (if u not sure what's the dish name, like us) and it will be put onto yr table. Or u could order from the menu, dish name is in English & Chinese.

We were so overwhelm be the variety of Dim Sum available that we just keep pointing and ended up with a table cover full of food! The Dim Sum were pipping hot & fresh, personally I like the steam stuff better as I found the fried Dim Sum a tad too oily.

I would advise to get yr hand on the baked mini egg tarts & coconut tarts half way though yr meal and not wait till last as they run out pretty fast, it's really delicious.

A good way to end the meal with the lemongrass jelly with fruits, the slight tangy favor of lemongrass is refreshing after a full meal.

It's a nice place to have a meal and play catch-up with friend or family member. Just don't seat too far away from the pathway, cos at times it's had to catch the attention of the waitress & the push cart may not be able to go near yr table.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeowSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was a little put off by some of the reviews but we found this restaurant fantastic. Couldnt fault the food or the service.

We had the afternoon tea (buffet all you can eat). They came around with push-carts and the manager was very attentive. We asked for a particular dish that didnt seem to be on any of the carts and after about 5 mins a lady brought us a plate to the table... they had made the dish especially for us and you could tell how fresh all the dishes tasted.

We did seem to be the only Westeners there, but doesnt that say its good, eat where the locals eat is our motto.

Much smaller than Maxim's in Hong Kong but just as good we thought.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This restaurant has very good dim sum, great menu, and good service, always busy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank glendaloughbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Dim Sum, although dear.”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I've visited Yum Cha several times with my family, and always had fine meals. This is something of an accomplishment, given the surly disposition of the management and the unhelpful wait-staff (many of whom don't speak English). The challenge is to secure the items one intends; photos of many varieties of dim sum in the menu are of considerable help.
You're going to spend a good deal of money to satisfy a healthy appetite, but the quality of the flavors you'll experience may well dull the pain in your wallet! Stated simply: Yum Cha does dim sum right!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KurtBruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yum Cha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yum Cha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing