We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience National Gallery Singapore
from US$11.00
More Info
from US$58.36
More Info
from US$37.06
More Info
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
647
327
88
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
327
88
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian art supreme court city hall holding cells special exhibition art pieces art education juan luna permanent collection high court local artists wonderful building south east asia on display amazing architecture roof garden free admission
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

I do not know. Probably it is the building. Probably it is the collection. Or maybe how they manage to arrange the collection in the spaces available. Visiting this place always gives me a content feeling afterwards. I come here a couple of times a year. Normally when they have new exhibits displayed. This time I was there for the Minimalism exhibition. I love the pieces they have in level 3. They basically force us to use all of our senses to participate in the experiences. In normal days, I would sit in front of Raden Saleh’s Forest Fire until the attendant looking at me awkwardly. If you are with kids, they would also like it here as there are several area especially designated for kids.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Ade212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018

During a short visit with my wife to singapore we visited this museum, we spent about 2 hours here while it was raining outside. apart from the art collection the museum also offers a great introduction to the history of singapore and the past colonial era.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Came here one afternoon, the staff are friendly and professional. The place is clean, beautiful and the art pieces a delight to view. Would come again!

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank runningnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We visited the exhibitions of Wu Guanzhong: Expressions of Pen & Palette as well as Minimalism: Space Light Object, all housed within the National Gallery Singapore which is within the converted Supreme Court and Old City Hall buildings. The buildings are beautiful and wonderfully converted to house the galleries and flexible exhibition spaces.

Whilst the Wu exhibition was excellent, the Minimalism was interesting if slightly limited as compared to London /US.

Afterwards we had drinks at the Aura Skylounge and watched the sunset and Singapore skyline. A great way to end the day.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

Interesting exhibitions but well spaced out over two ajoining buildings so not the easiest place to Navigate. Staff very helpful. Cafe busy but useful system of small pagers to let you know when your food is ready.
Best part is to go to the rooftop bar by the stairs from 'Smoke and Mirrors' the fifth floor as the sun goes down. Have a cocktail and enjoy the view as the light fades and the building lights come on. There is a laser show from the top of the Marina Bay Sands hotel at 7, 8 and at intervals after this. Not spectacular but a lovely evening in a special place.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank El-shmucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews