We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience National Gallery Singapore
from US$11.00
More Info
from US$58.36
More Info
from US$37.06
More Info
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
647
327
88
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
327
88
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian art supreme court city hall holding cells special exhibition art pieces art education juan luna permanent collection high court local artists wonderful building south east asia on display amazing architecture roof garden free admission
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

This is a MUST for anyone visiting Singapore. (1) the buildings are full of character and steeped in history beautifully restored. Not to miss - the Supreme Court Terrace, a lovely area great for photos; the Chief Justice's Chamber and adjoining Gallery which still resembles a courtroom with judge's bench and witness stand and of course the holding cells on the ground floor. Two separate buildings (the Supreme Court and City Hall) now integrated via the basement and on the ground level the 'veil'. (2) Through the artworks acquire an understanding of life in South East Asia. Two paintings in the gallery are featured on the back of the Singapore $50 note. Ask the staff which. (3) The restaurants are fantastic. From The National Kitchen, to Yan, or Aura. Even the little cafe at Gallery & Co serves up excellent food. Oh and the Courtyard Cafe is cheap and good too.

To make the best of your visit download the Gallery Explorer app from Apple Store or Google Play store. It helps you plan your visit before, serves as your guide during and is your memory keeper after, of your visit.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank T-bLayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018

My husband and I spent the whole day at the Gallery. Not only does it have great art but you can join in on incredible free presentations. In the morning, we took a tour which explained the architecture of the Gallery, how it came about, what the buildings were originally intended for and how they were now used. Afterward we visited the special exhibition on Minimalism before getting a tour on South-East Asian art. We learned so much! The guides were enthusiastic, knew their subject and engaged easily with the visitors. We cannot recommend it enough.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Catherinegagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018

We came here to relive my fathers role of standing on guard duty on the stairs during part of the official surrender of Singapore by the Japanese. We had be here 5 years ago but at that time the stairs were fenced off for renovation work. Singapore is really good at undertaking renovations and keeping everywhere in top shape. There is so much inside now it is the National Gallery. There are interactive displays as well as so much art on display we did not make the most of our visit but we achieved our purpose.

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

National gallery was also a former court of justice. 1800 colonial building which there are so many in Singapore. Once the union Jack would fly over these buildings. Not now of course Singapore is a proud young country but still part of the commonwealth. A favourite place of the Queen.
Beautiful building with pictures about the royalty, particularly Victoria. Also pictures of battles and Singapore hero's. Worth walking round.
I always marvel at these white airy building being so cool long before air conditioning.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank A3303XQpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Worth visiting with centralized location and easily accessible via public transport or taxi. Staff are super friendly and engaging, and talks to u about the exhibitions going on. Do feel free to ask anything from them.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank travelholicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews